top of page
LogoOSC-Expedition.jpg

OceanoScientific
Expeditions 2024

Wednesday 21 February 2024

Port Navy Super Services

Just a year ago, we had a tricky task when we had to select a technical base on the Mediterranean coast to transform our newly acquired Lagoon 570 catamaran from 2001 into an OceanoScientific Explorer platform called LOVE THE OCEAN, and then commit to carrying out annual maintenance there over an eight-year cycle. At the time, we had no real knowledge of professionals in the sector. Over 45 years of professional activity on the Channel and Atlantic coasts had forged solid habits in this area, particularly with the excellent V1D2 Marine Services technical base (Caen - Normandy - France). After a great deal of work, our choice fell on Port Navy Service in Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône, where we placed the preparation of our Lagoon LOVE THE OCEAN under the coordination of Frédéric Switala and Benoît Gabriel (META Yachts Services). With just a few days to go before we cast off for the first of the OceanoScientific Coral Reefs Expeditions 2023-2030, we can only congratulate ourselves on having made the right choice. We appreciate the collaboration with the elected representatives of the town of Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône, in particular with the Mayor, Martial Alvarez, and his teams from the Pôle Nautisme Mer & Développement (Nautismed). At the Port Navy Service site - Club Lagoon's official port of call - we benefited from the presence of skilled specialists who helped us prepare for calm long-distance ocean sailing. From now on, we will have to wait for the storm "Louis" and its Mediterranean consequences to blow elsewhere before LOVE THE OCEAN can set a course to the South-West...

Photo_01-LTO-PNS-Photo_Maeve_Fabre-01RLt.jpg

The Lagoon 570 catamaran LOVE THE OCEAN manoeuvres to berth at the Port Navy Service quay. 

Drone photo Maeve Fabre - Port Navy Service

Since last May, Port Navy Service, managed by Philippe Froment, and the Club Lagoon have been combining their skills to offer exclusive benefits to owners of catamarans produced by CNB (Beneteau Group) who are members of the Club Lagoon. These include first-class berths, exceptional discounts on port services and many other privileges. This partnership is tailor-made for Lagoon lovers like us! In fact, LOVE THE OCEAN is one of the Ambassadors of the Club Lagoon. This community of excellence offers its members access to a network of prestigious marinas in many countries and exclusive discounts on the online Lagoon Boutique.

 

At Port Navy Service, in addition to the multi-disciplinary commitment of META Yachts Services - comparable to what is practiced in the preparation of ocean-racing yachts in the English Channel and Atlantic - we benefited from the services of the talented and rigorous team of Christophe Ortin (Atelier Marine Services), who worked efficiently on our two Yanmar engines, their saildrives and our Onan generator. They are also responsible for monitoring the maintenance of the Suzuki engine powering our Vanguard RIB. A valuable tandem with proven efficiency for the OceanoScientific eDNA Mediterranean Expeditions.

Photo_02-LTO-PNS-TARA-Photo_Maeve_Fabre-02RLt.jpg

Port Navy Service is an increasingly renowned technical base. It is not uncommon to meet famous sailors like Paul Meilhat, who is wintering his personal catamaran here. Or famous ships, like the schooner TARA here, which has just completed its campaign on the Rhône and is preparing to return to sea. Drone photo Maeve Fabre - Port Navy Service

All the Raymarine equipment was installed by Nicolas Escande (AD Nautic - The Wind Ship), who also checked and re-commissioned the interior lighting, as well as some electrical equipment such as the windlass, essential for our oceanographic missions. The saddlery work was carried out by Stéphane Lebar (WBS Yacht Service - Global Nautic).

 

Two outside companies were involved on board LOVE THE OCEAN during its stay in Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône. ROM-arrangé, THE reference in the capital of world ocean racing (Lorient - France) in terms of computer equipment and satellite links, thanks to its branch in Mauguio (near Montpellier - France) equipped our catamaran with the best equipment in this field. YACHTELEC, a company based in La Ciotat, renowned in the world of prestige yachting and superyachts, but also the only representative on the French Mediterranean coast of desalinator from the Italian brand Idromar, has refurbished this guarantee of unlimited freshwater autonomy. An important complement to the energy autonomy produced by the 2,000 watts of solar panels. Everything needed to be able to sail and explore without CO2 emission, even in the heart of protected marine areas...

 

At the time we publish this text, while the storm "Louis" is likely to ravage the North of our Atlantic coast and those of the Channel as far inland as possible, the Southern part of the storm will generate a severe South-Westerly storm, right in front of the bows of LOVE THE OCEAN. Nature imposes its own rhythm, which must be respected. As a result, we are going to have to wait for the weather window on Thursday 29 February to cast off. We will be staying at Pontoon K in Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône for a few days and don't expect to return to our technical base at Port Navy Service until the second half of August. There, we will carry out the maintenance before embarking on the Tour MER & MÉTIERS – Revealing the vocations of Tomorrow. A big month along the Mediterranean coast from Nice to La Grande Motte and we will be heading to Bordeaux in mid-December. This will be an opportunity to take part in the celebration of the 40th anniversary of the Lagoon brand (140 years of the Beneteau Group) at the CNB boatyard pontoon, on the right bank of the Garonne.

Photo_03-LTO-PSL-Ponton_K-02RLt.jpg

Pontoon K in Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône, specially designed to accommodate catamarans, is exceptional year-round, whether you are wintering in the Mistral or looking for a quiet stopover in the summer, when the surrounding marinas are overflowing and excessively noisy. A stopover that we recommend! Photo OceanoScientific

Wednesday 7 February 2024

Heading for the Parc national de la Guadeloupe

While the first of the OceanoScientific Coral Reefs Expeditions 2023-2030 had been planned for a long time to the island of Juan de Nova (Indian Ocean - Eparses Islands - France - TAAF), the Board of Directors of the philanthropic association of general interest OceanoScientific approved on Tuesday 6 February the alignment of its tropical campaigns with its global strategy. Instead of Juan de Nova, this first mission will take place on the other side of the Atlantic, in the Parc national de la Guadeloupe, in close collaboration with the management of this exceptional site and with its own scientific and educational partners. As Yvan Griboval, Director of the OceanoScientific Expeditions and skipper of the Lagoon 570 catamaran LOVE THE OCEAN, explains below, this is a change of direction that is totally in line with our strategic direction: to focus all our science-based activities on "Guiding young people towards the new professions of the Blue Economy". The preparation of our innovative oceanographic platform - which will sail with total energy autonomy and no CO2 emission - is now coming to an end in Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône under the coordination of Frédéric Switala and Benoît Gabriel (META Yachts Services).

Photo_01-PNG-Grand_Cul-de-Sac_Marin-Vue_aerienne-Photo_Anne Chopin-Lt.jpg

The Parc national de la Guadeloupe, which includes the Grand Cul-de-Sac Marin cove in the north of the island, is an exploration site rich in biodiversity. Like the rest of the Caribbean, it is suffering from the combined effects of climate change and anthropic pressure. Using in situ DNA sequencing to collect genetic data of marine organisms threatened with extinction as a result of the Sixth Extinction is of the utmost importance in safeguarding Guadeloupe's heritage. Photo by Anne Chopin with the kind permission of the Parc national de la Guadeloupe

"As we wish to carry out OceanoScientific Expeditions whose purpose is directly linked to benefiting young people in the territories explored, Juan de Nova, one of the five uninhabited Eparses islands, whose scientific interest is unchanged, no longer met our priorities", explained Yvan Griboval at the end of the Board of Directors meeting on the evening of Tuesday 6 February. "But not being able to take high school students to discover molecular genetics aboard our 17-metre catamaran is not the only reason for this change of objective.

 

Indeed, despite the sincere enthusiasm of the highly competent scientists from the universities of Mayotte and La Réunion with whom we were starting a collaboration, no scientific program could accommodate our OceanoScientific Expedition, because of its extremely innovative nature, outside traditional oceanographic standards. No one imagines that in situ DNA sequencing is possible and, above all, useful for the preservation and enhancement of genetic data from marine organisms threatened by the Sixth Extinction and anthropic pressure!

 

Self-taught, I'm an instinctive person. So I was keen to make the special trip to Saint-Pierre in La Réunion for a meeting on 21 September 2023 with the Prefect of the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises - TAAF) and her department heads. During our 90-minute meeting, I realised that the welcome we would receive from the TAAF administration would not be commensurate with our commitment. I felt that the efforts made by our sponsors and partners to enable us to carry out this exploratory mission - at depths of five to eight meters in order to preserve unknown genetic data - would not be rewarded by a constructive collaboration to ensure the success of this undertaking. I deduced from this that the two times 80-90 days of sailing with an incursion into the Roaring Forties below the Cape of Good Hope should at the very least be postponed until the TAAF administration understood what was at stake. The enthusiasm of the Bureau de l'Action de l'État en Mer (BAEM) for the South-West Indian Ocean zone was not enough to counterbalance the TAAF's position.

 

The idea of working on a "proof of concept" in Guadeloupe, on the same dates as those chosen for Juan de Nova: Monday 8 to Friday 19 April inclusive, was obvious. Initial contact with Valérie Séné, Director of the Parc national de la Guadeloupe, and her colleague Sophie Bédel, confirmed this. Another factor in favour of the choice of a mission in the lagoon of Grand Cul-de-Sac Marin was that the École de l'ADN, chaired by Professors Philippe Berta and Christian Siatka, is currently being set up in Guadeloupe to give young people access to careers in genetics. Christian Siatka, Vice-President of the OceanoScientific association, is also our onboard reference geneticist in his capacity as Scientific Director. Carrying out the first of the OceanoScientific Coral Reefs Expeditions 2023-2030 on this island in the French West Indies will speed up the implementation of this project for the benefit of the people of Guadeloupe.

 

We will be setting sail for Guadeloupe late February and we are delighted to be able to start working with the teams from the Parc national de la Guadeloupe and its scientific and educational partners".

Photo_02-PNG-Carte-Grand_Cul-de-Sac_Marin-Lt.jpg

The Grand Cul-de-Sac Marin cove is a jewel of marine biodiversity in the Parc national de la Guadeloupe, to the north of the island. It is probably one of the most strictly controlled marine sites in the French Overseas Territories to ensure its sustainable preservation, thanks to the teams who manage it with passion. However, many of its organisms are still poorly understood, especially when it comes to their genetic characteristics. Map published with the kind permission of the Parc national de la Guadeloupe

bottom of page

top of page
LogoOSC-Expedition.jpg

Expéditions
OceanoScientific 2024

Mercredi 21 février 2024

Port Navy Super Services

Il y a tout juste un an, la tâche était délicate lorsque nous avons dû sélectionner une base technique sur le littoral méditerranéen pour transformer notre catamaran Lagoon 570 de 2001, tout juste acquis, en une plateforme OceanoScientific Explorer dénommée LOVE THE OCEAN, puis nous engager à y effectuer les maintenances annuelles sur un cycle de huit ans. Nous n'avions alors aucune réelle connaissance des professionnels du secteur. Plus de 45 ans d'activités professionnelles sur les côtes de Manche et d'Atlantique avaient forgé de solides habitudes dans cette zone, notamment auprès de l'excellente base technique V1D2 Marine Services (Caen - Normandie). Après de nombreuses démarches, notre choix s'est porté sur Port Navy Service à Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône, où nous avons placé la préparation de notre Lagoon LOVE THE OCEAN sous la coordination de Frédéric Switala et de Benoît Gabriel (META Yachts Services). À quelques jours de larguer les amarres pour la première des Expéditions OceanoScientific Récifs Coralliens 2023-2030, nous ne pouvons que nous féliciter d'avoir fait le bon choix. Nous apprécions la collaboration avec les élus de la ville de Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône, en particulier avec le Maire, Martial Alvarez et ses équipes du Pôle Nautisme Mer & Développement (Nautismed). Sur le site de Port Navy Service - escale officielle du Club Lagoon - nous avons bénéficié de la présence de spécialistes compétents pour une préparation de qualité en vue de navigations océaniques au long cours sereines. Désormais, il faut attendre que la tempête "Louis" et ses conséquences méditerranéennes aillent souffler ailleurs pour que le LOVE THE OCEAN mette le cap au Sud-Ouest...

Photo_01-LTO-PNS-Photo_Maeve_Fabre-01RLt.jpg

Le catamaran Lagoon 570 LOVE THE OCEAN effectue sa manœuvre pour accoster au quai de Port Navy Service.

Photo de drone Maeve Fabre - Port Navy Service

Depuis mai dernier, Port Navy Service, dirigé par Philippe Froment, et le Club Lagoon ont marié leurs compétences pour offrir des avantages exclusifs aux propriétaires des catamarans produits par CNB (Groupe Bénéteau) membres du Club Lagoon. Cela garantit aussi bien une place au port de premier choix, que des remises exceptionnelles sur les services portuaires et bien d'autres privilèges encore. Ce partenariat est taillé sur mesure pour les amoureux des Lagoon, …comme nous ! D'ailleurs, LOVE THE OCEAN est un des Ambassadeurs du Club Lagoon. Cette communauté d'excellence offre à ses membres l'accès à un réseau de marinas prestigieuses dans de nombreux pays et des réductions exclusives sur la Boutique Lagoon en ligne.

 

Chez Port Navy Service, outre l'engagement multidisciplinaire de META Yachts Services - comparable à ce qui se pratique dans la préparation de voiliers de course océanique en Manche et Atlantique - nous avons bénéficié des services de la talentueuse et rigoureuse équipe de Christophe Ortin (Atelier Marine Services), qui est intervenue avec efficacité sur nos deux moteurs Yanmar, leurs saildrives et notre générateur Onan. Ils sont également en charge du suivi de la maintenance du moteur Suzuki qui équipe notre annexe Vanguard. Un tandem précieux à l'efficacité avérée pour réaliser les Expéditions OceanoScientific ADNe Méditerranée.

Photo_02-LTO-PNS-TARA-Photo_Maeve_Fabre-02RLt.jpg

Port Navy Service est une base technique de plus en plus réputée. Il est fréquent d'y rencontrer de célèbres marins comme Paul Meilhat qui y hiverne son catamaran personnel. Ou de célèbres navires, comme ici

la goélette TARA qui sort de sa campagne sur le Rhône et se prépare à retourner naviguer en mer.

Photo de drone Maeve Fabre - Port Navy Service

Tout le matériel Raymarine a été installé par Nicolas Escande (AD Nautic - The Wind Ship), qui a également contrôlé et remis en service l'éclairage intérieur, ainsi que quelques équipements électriques comme le guindeau, essentiel dans nos missions océanographiques. Quant aux travaux de sellerie, ils ont été réalisés par Stéphane Lebar (WBS Yacht Service - Global Nautic).

 

Deux entreprises extérieures sont intervenues à bord de LOVE THE OCEAN durant son séjour à Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône. ROM-arrangé, LA référence de la capitale de la course océanique mondiale (Lorient) en matière d'équipements informatiques et de liaisons satellitaires, grâce à son antenne de Mauguio (près de Montpellier), a équipé notre catamaran du meilleur matériel en ce domaine. YACHTELEC, société basée à La Ciotat, réputée dans le milieu du yachting de prestige et des super yachts, mais également unique représentant sur le littoral méditerranéen français des dessalinisateurs de la marque italienne Idromar, a remis en état cette garantie d'autonomie sans limite en matière d'eau douce. Un complément important à l'autonomie énergétique produite par les 2 000 watts des panneaux solaires. De quoi naviguer et explorer sans émission de CO2, même au cœur de sites maritimes sanctuarisés…

 

À l'heure où nous mettons en ligne, alors que la tempête "Louis" risque de ravager le Nord de nos côtes atlantique et celles de la Manche jusqu'à loin dans les terres, sa partie Sud va engendrer une grosse tempête de Sud-Ouest, pile face aux étraves du LOVE THE OCEAN. La Nature impose son rythme qu'il faut respecter. Résultat, nous allons devoir attendre la fenêtre du jeudi 29 février qui se profile à l'horizon météorologique pour larguer les amarres. Quelques jours à demeurer au Ponton K de Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône où nous n'escomptons pas revenir à notre base technique de Port Navy Service avant la seconde moitié du mois d'août. Nous y effectuerons la  maintenance annuelle avant d'entamer le Tour MER & MÉTIERS - Révéler les vocations de Demain. Un gros mois le long du littoral méditerranéen de Nice à La Grande Motte et nous rejoindrons Bordeaux à la mi-décembre. Ce sera l'occasion de participer à la célébration des 40 ans de la marque Lagoon (140 ans du Groupe Bénéteau) au ponton du chantier CNB, sur la rive droite de la Garonne.   

Photo_03-LTO-PSL-Ponton_K-02RLt.jpg

Le Ponton K de Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône, spécialement conçu pour accueillir des catamarans, est exceptionnel douze mois sur douze, qu'il s'agisse d'hiverner face au Mistral ou de faire une escale au calme durant l'été, lorsque les marinas alentour débordent et sont excessivement bruyantes. Un site d'escale que nous recommandons !

Photo OceanoScientific

Mercredi 7 février 2024

Cap sur le Parc national de la Guadeloupe

Alors que la première des Expéditions OceanoScientific Récifs Coralliens 2023-2030 était programmée de longue date à destination de l'île Juan de Nova (Océan Indien - Iles Éparses - France - TAAF), le Conseil d'Administration de l'association philanthropique d'intérêt général OceanoScientific a entériné ce mardi 6 février la mise en adéquation de ses campagnes tropicales avec sa stratégie globale. En lieu et place de Juan de Nova, cette première mission se fera de l'autre côté de l'Atlantique, dans le Parc national de la Guadeloupe, en étroite collaboration avec la direction de ce site exceptionnel et avec ses propres partenaires scientifiques et pédagogiques. Comme l'explique ci-dessous Yvan Griboval, Directeur des Expéditions OceanoScientific et skipper du catamaran Lagoon 570 LOVE THE OCEAN, c'est un changement de cap en totale cohérence avec notre orientation stratégique : axer toutes nos actions à vocation scientifique pour "Guider les jeunes vers les nouveaux métiers de l'Économie Bleue". La préparation de notre plateforme océanographique innovante - se déplaçant à la voile en totale autonomie énergétique sans émission de CO2 - se termine actuellement à Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône sous la coordination de Frédéric Switala et de Benoît Gabriel (META Yachts Services).

Photo_01-PNG-Grand_Cul-de-Sac_Marin-Vue_aerienne-Photo_Anne Chopin-Lt.jpg

Le Parc national de la Guadeloupe, dans lequel se situe l'anse de Grand Cul-de-Sac Marin au Nord de l'île,

est un site d'exploration riche d'une grande biodiversité. Il subit, comme tout l'arc antillais, la conjonction des conséquences du dérèglement climatique et de la pression anthropique. Y recueillir par séquençage ADN in-situ les données génétiques d'organismes marins en voie de disparition du fait de la Sixième Extinction, est de première importance pour sauvegarder précieusement ce patrimoine de la Guadeloupe.

Photo Anne Chopin avec l'aimable autorisation du Parc national de la Guadeloupe

"Comme nous souhaitons réaliser des Expéditions OceanoScientific dont la finalité soit directement liée au profit de la jeunesse des territoires explorés, Juan de Nova, une des cinq îles éparses inhabitées, dont l’intérêt scientifique est inchangé, ne répondait plus à nos priorités", expliquait Yvan Griboval au sortir du Conseil d'Administration, mardi 6 février au soir. "Mais ne pas pouvoir emmener des lycéennes et des lycéens découvrir la génétique moléculaire à bord de notre catamaran de 17 mètres, n'est pas la seule raison de ce changement d’objectif.

 

En effet, malgré l'enthousiasme sincère des scientifiques très compétents des universités de Mayotte et de La Réunion avec lesquels nous démarrions une collaboration, aucun programme scientifique ne pouvait abriter notre Expédition OceanoScientific, du fait de son caractère extrêmement innovant, hors les standards océanographiques traditionnels. Personne n'imagine que réaliser du séquençage ADN in-situ est possible et, surtout, utile pour favoriser la préservation et la valorisation de données génétiques d'organismes marins menacés par la Sixième Extinction et la pression anthropique !

 

Autodidacte, je suis un instinctif. Alors, j'ai tenu à faire spécialement le déplacement à Saint-Pierre de La Réunion pour un entretien le 21 septembre dernier avec Madame la Préfète des Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises (TAAF) et avec ses responsables de départements. En 90 minutes d'entretien, j'ai perçu que l'accueil que nous réserverait l'Administration des TAAF ne serait pas à la hauteur de notre engagement. J'ai estimé que l'effort de nos mécènes et partenaires pour nous permettre de mener à bien cette mission d'exploration par des fonds de cinq à huit mètres pour préserver des données génétiques inconnues - ne serait pas récompensé par une collaboration constructive pour mener cette entreprise au succès. J'en ai déduit que les deux fois 80-90 jours de navigation avec incursion dans les Quarantièmes Rugissants sous le Cap de Bonne-Espérance devait être a minima reporté lorsque l'administration des TAAF comprendrait l’enjeu. L'enthousiasme du Bureau de l'Action de l'État en Mer (BAEM) de la zone de l'Océan Indien Sud-Ouest n'a pas suffi à contrebalancer cette position des TAAF. 

 

L'idée de travailler à la réalisation d'une "preuve de concept" en Guadeloupe, toujours aux mêmes dates que celles retenues pour Juan de Nova : lundi 8 au vendredi 19 avril inclus, s'est imposée comme une évidence. Le premier contact avec Valérie Séné, Directrice du Parc national de la Guadeloupe et avec sa collaboratrice Sophie Bédel, a confirmé cette évidence. Autre élément en faveur de ce choix d'une mission dans le lagon de Grand Cul-de-Sac Marin, L'École de l'ADN, présidée par les Professeurs Philippe Berta et Christian Siatka, est en cours d'implantation en Guadeloupe pour favoriser l'accès des jeunes aux métiers de la génétique. Christian Siatka, vice-Président de l'association OceanoScientific, est aussi notre généticien référent embarqué en son statut de Directeur Scientifique des Expéditions OceanoScientific Récifs Coralliens 2023-2030. Réaliser la première des Expéditions OceanoScientific Récifs Coralliens 2023-2030 dans cette île des Antilles Françaises accélèrera la mise en œuvre de ce projet au profit des Guadeloupéennes et des Guadeloupéens.

 

Nous mettrons donc le cap sur la Guadeloupe fin février avec enthousiasme et ravis de pouvoir entamer une collaboration avec les équipes du Parc national de la Guadeloupe et avec ses partenaires scientifiques et pédagogiques".

Photo_02-PNG-Carte-Grand_Cul-de-Sac_Marin-Lt.jpg

L'anse de Grand Cul-de-Sac Marin est un joyau de biodiversité marine du Parc national de la Guadeloupe,

au Nord de l'île. C'est probablement un des sites maritimes ultramarins français les plus contrôlés pour en assurer une préservation durable, grâce aux équipes qui le gèrent avec passion. Cependant, bon nombre de ses organismes sont encore méconnus, surtout en ce qui concerne leurs caractéristiques génétiques.

Carte publiée avec l'aimable autorisation du Parc national de la Guadeloupe

bottom of page