top of page
LogoOSC-Expedition.jpg

OceanoScientific
eDNA Mediterranean
Expedition 2024

Wednesday 3 July 2024

Princely departure for the BioDivMed Mission2024

On Thursday 27 June at the Yacht Club de Monaco, H.S.H. the Sovereign Prince Albert II picked up the moorings handed to Him by Yvan Griboval for the departure of the second OceanoScientific eDNA Mediterranean Expedition. This expedition is part of the BioDivMed Mission launched by the Rhone Mediterranean Corsica water Agency in collaboration with the Joint Research Unit Marbec - University of Montpellier and the Spygen company. As soon as they left the Y.C.M. Marina, the crew of the Lagoon 570 LOVE THE OCEAN headed east to collect eDNA samples at the Marine Biodiversity Sentinel Site (MBSS) of Menton, at the eastern end of the French mainland Mediterranean coastline, along which no fewer than sixty MBSSs have been identified as far as the Spanish border. After the LOVE THE OCEAN’s return to its technical base in Port Saint Louis du Rhône, its crew will be collecting eDNA from around twenty Marine Biodiversity Sentinel Sites from Monaco to Carnon (Hérault - France) using the Vanguard - Suzuki RIB fitted with a unique equipment developed by OceanoScientific. It enables eDNA samples to be collected with the utmost scientific rigor.

Photo_01-Depart-Exp.ADNe2024-Souverain-YG-Amarres2-Photo_Axel_Ballesto-Palais_Princier.jpg

H.S.H. the Sovereign Prince picked up the moorings of the catamaran LOVE THE OCEAN from Yvan Griboval as he left the pontoon of honor of the Yacht Club de Monaco for the launch of the OceanoScientific eDNA Mediterranean Expedition 2024

Photo Axel Ballesto - Palais Princier

Photo_02-Embarquement_consommables_SpyGen-03Lt.jpg

Before setting sail, Justine Camus, Coordinator of the OceanoScientific eDNA Mediterranean Expedition, Yvan Griboval and Clara Bayol took delivery of the Spygen kits for collecting the eDNA samples brought by Professor David Mouillot and Marie Orblin, Research Engineer at the UMR Marbec - University of Montpellier. Photo OceanoScientific

Photo_03-20240627_DSCF1123-Photo_Mesi-Yacht_Club_de_Monaco.jpg

Just before the LOVE THE OCEAN set sail, Professor David Mouillot recalled the excellent results of the BioDivMed Mission 2023, in which the OceanoScientific association played an active part, and insisted on the need to repeat this type of eDNA collection every year on around sixty Marine Biodiversity Sentinel Sites between Menton and Banyuls-sur-Mer. 

Photo Mesi - Yacht Club de Monaco

Photo_04-20240627_DSCF1185-Photo_Mesi-Yacht_Club_de_Monaco.jpg

H.S.H. the Sovereign Prince and Bernard d'Alessandri, General Director of the Yacht Club de Monaco wished "Bon Vent" to the crew of the LOVE THE OCEAN, engaged for the second year running in the BioDivMed Mission

Photo Mesi - Yacht Club de Monaco

Photo_05-24-06-27-Collecte-SSBM_Menton-02Lt.jpg

Aboard the Vanguard - Suzuki, Justine Camus (front left) and her team on 27 June: Clara Bayol (back), Marie Orblin and Simon Huret at the controls, carried out the first double collection of eDNA at the Marine Biodiversity Sentinel Site (MBSS) of Menton. Photo OceanoScientific

Wednesday 26 June 2024

BioDivMed Mission 2024 between Menton and Carnon

Following on from the OceanoScientific eDNA Mediterranean Expedition 2023, carried out as part of the BioDivMed Mission 2023, the second edition of this oceanographic campaign will leave the Yacht Club de Monaco on Thursday 27 June at 11.00 AM and will begin by collecting environmental DNA (eDNA) samples from the Marine Biodiversity Sentinel Site (MBSS) of Menton, at the eastern end of the French mainland Mediterranean coastline, where no fewer than sixty MBSSs have been identified as far as the Spanish border. This OceanoScientific Expedition is part of a first cycle 2023-2027. The OceanoScientific association is a member of the BioDivMed Consortium set up at the initiative of the Rhone Mediterranean Corsica water Agency with the Joint Research Unit Marbec - University of Montpellier and the company Spygen. Under the scientific direction of Professor David Mouillot (Marbec - University of Montpellier), the OceanoScientific team will this year be collecting eDNA samples from around twenty Sentinel Sites from Menton (Alpes-Maritimes) to Carnon (Hérault) using the Lagoon 570 LOVE THE OCEAN fitted with a Vanguard - Suzuki RIB.

24-07-08-EOAM-SSBM-Carte_des_Sites_2023-2030.jpg

No fewer than sixty Marine Biodiversity Sentinel Sites (MBSS) have been identified, most of them as a result of the experience gained during the OceanoScientific eDNA Mediterranean Expedition 2023 carried out as part of the BioDivMed Mission.

Wednesday 19 June 2024

Meet us at the Yacht Club de Monaco

Thursday 27 June at 11.00 AM

Following the success of the OceanoScientific eDNA Mediterranean Expedition 2023, the oceanography logistics platform LOVE THE OCEAN will leave the pontoon of honor of the Yacht Club de Monaco at 11.00 AM on Thursday 27 June, marking the start of the second edition of this scientific campaign as part of the BioDivMed Mission. The OceanoScientific association is a member of the BioDivMed Consortium, which brings together, on the initiative of the Rhone Mediterranean Corsica water Agency: the Joint Research Unit Marbec - University of Montpellier in collaboration with the Centre d'Écologie Fonctionnelle & Évolutive, the compagnies Spygen and Andromède Océanologie as well as the philanthropic associations We are Méditerranée and OceanoScientific. Yvan Griboval and his team, coordinated by Justine Camus, will begin this second mission to identify the fishes, crustaceans and cephalopods of the Mediterranean coast at the Marine Biodiversity Sentinel Station of Menton. On the occasion of the departure of the Yacht Club de Monaco, Professor David Mouillot (Marbec - University of Montpellier) will present the positive and encouraging results of the BioDivMed Mission 2023 and the future prospects for this strategy of a synchronized and standardized scientific inventory of coastal marine biodiversity: an innovation that positions France as a leader in this unprecedented ... and truly effective method.

INVITATION-Depart-EOAM24.jpg
bottom of page

top of page
LogoOSC-Expedition.jpg

Expédition OceanoScientific
ADNe Méditerranée 2024

Mercredi 3 juillet 2024

Départ princier pour la Mission BioDivMed 2024

Jeudi 27 juin au Yacht Club de Monaco, S.A.S. le Prince Souverain Albert II a pris les amarres que lui a remises Yvan Griboval à l'occasion du départ de la deuxième Expédition OceanoScientific ADNe Méditerranée. Celle-ci s'inscrit dans le cadre de la Mission BioDivMed initiée par l'Agence de l'eau Rhône Méditerranée Corse en collaboration avec l'Unité Mixte de Recherche Marbec - Université de Montpellier et la société Spygen. Dès la sortie de la Marina du Y.C.M., l'équipage du Lagoon 570 LOVE THE OCEAN a mis le cap à l'Est pour procéder à la collecte d'échantillons d'ADNe sur le Site Sentinelle de Biodiversité Marine (SSBM) de Menton, à l'extrémité orientale du littoral méditerranéen continental français le long duquel pas moins de soixante SSBM ont été identifiées jusqu'à la frontière espagnole. Après un retour du LOVE THE OCEAN à sa base technique de Port Saint Louis du Rhône, son équipage procèdera à la collecte d'ADNe sur une vingtaine de Sites Sentinelles de Biodiversité Marine de Monaco à Carnon (Hérault) avec le pneumatique semi-rigide Vanguard - Suzuki équipé d'un matériel unique mis au point par OceanoScientific. Il permet la collecte d'échantillons d'ADNe avec une parfaite rigueur scientifique.

Photo_01-Depart-Exp.ADNe2024-Souverain-YG-Amarres2-Photo_Axel_Ballesto-Palais_Princier.jpg

S.A.S. le Prince Souverain a récupéré les amarres du catamaran LOVE THE OCEAN que lui a remises Yvan Griboval au moment de quitter le ponton d'honneur du Yacht Club de Monaco au départ de l'Expédition OceanoScientific ADNe Méditerranée 2024.

Photo Axel Ballesto - Palais Princier

Photo_02-Embarquement_consommables_SpyGen-03Lt.jpg

Avant d'appareiller, Justine Camus, Coordinatrice de l'Expédition OceanoScientific ADNe Méditerranée, Yvan Griboval et Clara Bayol ont réceptionné les kits Spygen destinés à la collecte des échantillons d'ADNe apportés par le Professeur David Mouillot et l'Ingénieure d'études Marie Orblin de l'UMR Marbec - Université de Montpellier. Photo OceanoScientific

Photo_03-20240627_DSCF1123-Photo_Mesi-Yacht_Club_de_Monaco.jpg

Juste avant l'appareillage du LOVE THE OCEAN, le Professeur David Mouillot a rappelé les bons résultats de la Mission BioDivMed 2023, à laquelle l'association OceanoScientific a activement participé, en insistant sur la nécessité de répéter chaque année ce type de collecte d'ADNe sur une soixantaine de Sites Sentinelles de Biodiversité Marine entre Menton et Banyuls-sur-Mer.

Photo Mesi - Yacht Club de Monaco

Photo_04-20240627_DSCF1185-Photo_Mesi-Yacht_Club_de_Monaco.jpg

S.A.S. le Prince Souverain et Bernard d'Alessandri, Directeur Général du Yacht Club de Monaco ont souhaité "Bon Vent" à l'équipage du LOVE THE OCEAN, engagé pour la deuxième année consécutive dans la Mission BioDivMed.

Photo Mesi - Yacht Club de Monaco

Photo_05-24-06-27-Collecte-SSBM_Menton-02Lt.jpg

À bord du Vanguard - Suzuki, Justine Camus (de face, à gauche) et son équipe du 27 juin : Clara Bayol (de dos),

Marie Orblin et Simon Huret aux commandes, ont réalisé une première double collecte d'ADNe sur

le Site Sentinelle de Biodiversité Marine (SSBM) de Menton. Photo OceanoScientific

Mercredi 26 juin 2024

Mission BioDivMed 2024 entre Menton et Carnon

Suite à l'Expédition OceanoScientific ADNe Méditerranée 2023, réalisée dans le cadre de la Mission BioDivMed 2023, la deuxième édition de cette campagne océanographique quittera le Yacht Club de Monaco jeudi 27 juin à 11h00 et débutera par la collecte d'échantillons d'ADN environnemental (ADNe) du Site Sentinelle de Biodiversité Marine (SSBM) de Menton, soit à l'extrémité Est du littoral méditerranéen continental français sur lequel ont été identifiées pas moins de soixante SSBM jusqu'à la frontière espagnole. Cette Expédition OceanoScientific s'inscrit dans un premier cycle 2023-2027. L'association OceanoScientific est en effet membre du Consortium BioDivMed mis en œuvre à l'initiative de l'Agence de l'eau Rhône Méditerranée Corse avec l'Unité Mixte de Recherche Marbec - Université de Montpellier et la société Spygen. Sous la direction scientifique du Professeur David Mouillot (UMR Marbec - Université de Montpellier) l'équipe de OceanoScientific recueillera cette année des échantillons d'ADNe dans une vingtaine de Sites Sentinelles de Menton (Alpes-Maritimes) à Carnon (Hérault) avec le Lagoon 570 LOVE THE OCEAN équipé d'un pneumatique Vanguard - Suzuki.

24-07-08-EOAM-SSBM-Carte_des_Sites_2023-2030.jpg

Pas moins de soixante Sites Sentinelles de Biodiversité Marine (SSBM) ont été identifiés, la plupart du fait de l'expérience acquise

à l'occasion de l'Expédition OceanoScientific ADNe Méditerranée 2023 réalisée dans le cadre de la Mission BioDivMed.

Mercredi 19 juin 2024

Rendez-vous au Yacht Club de Monaco

jeudi 27 juin à 11h00

Après le succès de l'Expédition OceanoScientific ADNe Méditerranée 2023, c'est à 11h00 jeudi 27 juin que la plateforme logistique d'océanographie LOVE THE OCEAN quittera le ponton d'honneur du Yacht Club de Monaco, marquant ainsi le départ de la deuxième édition de cette campagne scientifique réalisée dans le cadre de la Mission BioDivMed. L'association OceanoScientific est en effet membre du Consortium BioDivMed qui réunit, à l'initiative de l'Agence de l'eau Rhône Méditerranée Corse : l'Unité Mixte de Recherche Marbec - Université de Montpellier en collaboration avec le Centre d'Écologie Fonctionnelle & Évolutive, les sociétés Spygen et Andromède Océanologie ainsi que les associations philanthropiques We are Méditerranée et OceanoScientific. Yvan Griboval et son équipe, coordonnée par Justine Camus, débuteront cette deuxième mission d'identification des poissons, crustacés et céphalopodes du littoral méditerranéen par la Station Sentinelle de Biodiversité Marine de Menton. À l'occasion du départ du Yacht Club de Monaco, le Professeur David Mouillot (UMR Marbec - Université de Montpellier) présentera les résultats positifs et encourageants de la Mission BioDivMed 2023 et les perspectives d'avenir de cette stratégie de recensement scientifique synchronisé et standardisé de la biodiversité marine côtière : une innovation qui positionne la France en leader de cette méthode inédite …et réellement efficace.

INVITATION-Depart-EOAM24.jpg
bottom of page