LogoOSC-Expedition.jpg

Coral reefs
Expedition 2022-2023

Carry out oceanographic navigations by sail without CO2 emission or waste, in scientifically unknown maritime areas to bioprospect and build / save a genetic database of marine organisms from coral reefs threatened with extinction , in order to discover and valorize molecules of interest with the aim of a virtuous exploitation by biomimicry* of reef resources, for the benefit of Health (HealthTech) and Human Well-being (Cosmetology / Dermatology).

These are the OceanoScientific Expeditions 2022-2027, whose vocation is also to mobilize through storytelling and images (photos / videos) the widest audience and primarily young people, to the imperative need to RESPECT and LOVE the Ocean.

The ocean covers 71% of the planet and coral reefs (285,000 km2) represent less than 0.1% of this surface, but they contain more than 25% of marine organisms.

France has the second largest maritime space (Exclusive Economic Zone) in the world with an area of 11,035,000 km2 in the Atlantic, Indian and Pacific Oceans, not far behind the United States (11,351,000 km2) and ahead of Australia (8,505 348 km2).

The sun never sets on France, endowed with the first sub-maritime domain in the world , therefore with an inestimable, untapped resource, of... 11,614,000 km2!

In compliance with the Nagoya Protocol on access to genetic resources and the equitable sharing of the resulting benefits (Access and Benefit Sharing - ABS), OceanoScientific already has a French authorization to international scope to bioprospect and collect samples* of marine organisms on French coral reefs.

The OceanoScientific Explorer catamaran LOVE THE OCEAN will be equipped with: a unique DNA/RNA sequencing equipment specifically developed for this innovative use never before realized; an OSC System Version 4.0 for the automatic collection and transmission of a dozen oceanographic data at the Air-Sea interface useful for meteorology, operational oceanography and climatology; the equipment needed to study the contaminants that poison the phytoplankton at the origin of the food chain.

A prototype robot will complement the work of scientific divers to collect samples up to 350 meters deep and encapsulate sediment to preserve unknown bacteria and viruses that harbor there, for later laboratory studies .
 

The LOVE THE OCEAN catamaran will be helmed by Yvan Griboval (Expedition Director / Skipper) with a professional sailor, two diver oceanographers trained in DNA / RNA sequencing; an image reporter (video and photo), a media woman in charge of the transmission by satellite of the reports (texts, photos, videos) and the permanent animation of the social networks.

The OceanoScientific Expeditions 2022-2027 are designed and led by Yvan Griboval, the first navigator - explorer to have carried out a successful innovative oceanographic campaign: the 2016-2017 OceanoScientific Expedition at the ocean-atmosphere interface alone under sail for 60 days non-stop in the Antarctic Circumpolar Current, below the 40th parallel South, i.e. below the three major continental capes: Good Hope, Leeuwin and Horn, on a 152-day round-the-world trip from Monaco to Monaco solo sailing.

The OceanoScientific Expeditions are the fruit of the OceanoScientific Program imagined in 2005-2006, and started on November 14th, 2006 within the Laboratoire d'Océanographie et du Climat : Expérimentations  et Approches Numériques (LOCEAN) - Pierre & Marie Curie University (Paris VI).

The OceanoScientific Program has been developed for more than fifteen years in close collaboration with the Institut Français de Recherche pour l'Exploitation de la Mer (Ifremer), Météo-France, LOCEAN and the IMAGO unit of the Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD).

By focusing its work on the theme of genetic data of marine organisms in coral reefs within the framework of the OceanoScientific Expeditions 2022-2027, the OceanoScientific Program is implementing new collaborations: with the School of DNA, the National Museum of Natural History, as with the Universities of Toulon, Nîmes and Nice.

The OceanoScientific Program initiated the OceanoScientific Academy under the educational supervision of the Campus des Métiers et Qualifications d'excellence (CMQe) - Métiers de la Mer - Région Sud, on the theme of Objective 7 of the France 2030 program: "Produce 20 biomedicines against cancer, chronic diseases, including those related to age" (President E. Macron 12/10/21).

Initiated and developed by Yvan Griboval, the OceanoScientific association aims to create a complete sector: from the collection of marine organisms for the purposes of DNA / RNA sequencing as soon as they come out of the water; to their in-depth study in the laboratory by researchers from major French institutes; then for their use by students to reveal molecules of interest for Health and Well-being, in order: either to make existing French Biotechs prosper, or to hatch French startups for new Sea Careers.

OceanoScientific Expeditions are supported by: the Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation , by the Ambassador for the Poles and Maritime Issues , Special Adviser to the President of the Republic on Ocean Policy, by the Ministry of the Sea , by the South Region and the France Biotech association .

* The DNA and RNA sequencing of samples of marine organisms from 3 to 5 centimeters makes it possible to obtain exploitable and reproducible numerical formulas without the need to take living animal resources by plundering the reefs, or to artificially create nurseries, or cultivate algae.

.

LogoOSC-Expedition.jpg

Expédition
Iles Éparses
2022-2023

Réaliser des navigations océanographiques à la voile sans rejet de CO2 ni déchet dans des zones maritimes scientifiquement méconnues pour bioprospecter et constituer / sauvegarder une base de données génétiques d'organismes marins des récifs coralliens menacés d'extinction, afin de découvrir et de valoriser des molécules d'intérêt dans le but d'une exploitation vertueuse par biomimétisme* des ressources récifales au profit de la Santé (HealthTech) et du Bien-être humain (Cosmétologie / Dermatologie).

Il s'agit des Expéditions OceanoScientific 2022-2027, dont la vocation est également de mobiliser par le récit et par l'image (photo / vidéo) le plus large public et prioritairement les jeunes, à l'impérative nécessité de RESPECTER et d'AIMER l'Océan.

L'Océan recouvre 71% de la Planète et les récifs coralliens (285 000 km2) représentent moins de 0,1% de cette surface, mais ils regroupent plus de 25% des organismes marins.

La France dispose du deuxième espace maritime (Zone Économique Exclusive) au Monde avec une surface de 11 035 000 km2 en Atlantique, Océan Indien et Pacifique, non loin derrière les États-Unis (11 351 000 km2) et devant les Australiens (8 505 348 de km2).

Le soleil ne se couche jamais sur la France, dotée du premier domaine sous-maritime mondial, donc d'une ressource inestimable, inexploitée, de ...11 614 000 km2 !

Dans le respect du Protocole de Nagoya relatif à l'accès aux ressources génétiques et au partage équitable des avantages qui en résultent (Accès et Partage des Avantages - APA), OceanoScientific dispose d'ores-et-déjà d'une autorisation française d'envergure internationale pour bioprospecter et pour recueillir des échantillons* d'organismes marins sur les récifs coralliens français.

Le catamaran OceanoScientific Explorer LOVE THE OCEAN sera équipé : d'un matériel unique de séquençage ADN / ARN spécifiquement développé pour cet usage innovant encore jamais réalisé ; d'un OSC System Version 4.0 de collecte et transmission automatiques d'une douzaine de données océanographiques à l'interface Air-Mer utiles à la météorologie, à l'océanographie opérationnelle et à la climatologie ; des équipements nécessaires à l'étude des contaminants qui empoisonnent le phytoplancton à l'origine de la chaîne alimentaire.

Un prototype de robot permettra de compléter le travail des plongeuses scientifiques pour recueillir des échantillons jusqu'à 350 mètres de fond et d'encapsuler des sédiments pour préserver les bactéries et virus inconnus qui s'y logent, aux fins d'études ultérieures en laboratoire.
 

Le catamaran LOVE THE OCEAN sera mené par Yvan Griboval (Directeur d'Expédition / Skipper) avec un marin professionnel, deux océanographes plongeuses formées au séquençage ADN / ARN ; un reporter d'images (vidéo et photo), une media woman en charge de l'acheminement par satellite des reportages (textes, photos, vidéos) et de l'animation permanente des réseaux sociaux.

Les Expéditions OceanoScientific 2022-2027 sont conçues et dirigées par Yvan Griboval, premier navigateur - explorateur à avoir réalisé une campagne océanographique innovante à succès : l'Expédition OceanoScientific 2016-2017 à l'interface océan-atmosphère en solitaire à la voile durant 60 jours sans escale dans le Courant Circumpolaire Antarctique, sous le 40e parallèle Sud c'est-à-dire sous les trois grands caps continentaux : Bonne-Espérance, Leeuwin et Horn, au gré d'un tour du Monde de Monaco à Monaco de 152 jours de navigation en solitaire.

Les Expéditions OceanoScientific sont le fruit du Programme OceanoScientific imaginé en 2005- 2006, et démarré le 14 novembre 2006 au sein du Laboratoire d'Océanographie et du Climat Expérimentations et Approches Numériques (LOCEAN) - Université Pierre & Marie Curie (Paris VI).

Le Programme OceanoScientific est développé depuis plus de quinze ans en étroite collaboration avec l'Institut Français de Recherche pour l'Exploitation de la Mer (Ifremer), Météo-France, le LOCEAN et l'unité IMAGO de l'Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD).

En orientant ses travaux sur le thème des données génétiques des organismes marins des récifs coralliens dans le cadre des Expéditions OceanoScientific 2022-2027, le Programme OceanoScientific met en œuvre de nouvelles collaborations : avec l'École de l'ADN, le Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, comme avec les Universités de Toulon, Nîmes et Nice.

Le Programme OceanoScientific a initié l'OceanoScientific Academy sous la tutelle pédagogique du Campus des Métiers et Qualifications d'excellence (CMQe) - Métiers de la Mer - Région Sud, sur le thème de l'Objectif 7 du programme France 2030 : "Produire 20 biomédicaments contre les cancers, les maladies chroniques, dont celles liées à l'âge" (Président E. Macron 12/10/21).

Initiée et développée par Yvan Griboval, l'association OceanoScientific vise à réaliser une filière complète : de la collecte d'organismes marins aux fins de séquençage ADN / ARN dès leurs sortie de l'eau ; à leur étude approfondie en laboratoire par les chercheurs des grands instituts français ; puis à leur usage par des étudiants pour révéler des molécules d'intérêt pour la Santé et le Bien-être, afin : soit de faire prospérer des Biotechs françaises existantes, soit de faire éclore des startups françaises pour de nouveaux Métiers de la Mer.

Les Expéditions OceanoScientific sont soutenues par : le Ministère de l'Enseignement supérieur, de la Recherche et de l'Innovation, par Monsieur l'Ambassadeur pour les Pôles et les Enjeux Maritimes, Conseiller spécial du Président de la République en matière de Politique de l'Océan, par le Ministère de la Mer, par la Région Sud et l'association France Biotech.

* Le séquençage ADN et ARN d'échantillons d'organismes marins de 3 à 5 centimètres permet d'obtenir des formules numériques exploitables et reproductibles sans avoir besoin de prélever de la ressource animale vivante par pillage des récifs, ou de créer artificiellement des nurseries, ou de cultiver des algues.