LogoOSC-Expedition.jpg

 OceanoScientific Explorer PLATFORM
LOVE THE OCEAN

"Having of the biggest little ship, or the smallest big ship". This is how Yvan Griboval defines the ideal platform for conducting OceanoScientific Expeditions , with a priority: the lowest possible cost of purchase and maintenance, because "the less money we put into nautical equipment, the more we can devote to the expeditions themselves, in the scientific treatment of the data collected and in the efforts to mobilize the general public" .

Since his return from his solo oceanographic round-the-world trip on June 2nd, 2017, Yvan Griboval has studied no less than twenty files from different ships spread all over the planet, in an attempt to find the most versatile ship that exists.

This sailboat must be adapted to a program of tropical navigations in light winds, but at times when gigantic cyclones can sweep over maritime areas devoid of reliable shelters to protect against the unleashing of the elements - the passage of cyclones Batsirai and Emnati last February on the outskirts of Reunion and Madagascar, with winds above 200 km/h and breaking waves of more than ten meters, attests to this.

You also need to be in a position to navigate safely in the Roaring Forties and the Furious Fifties. Finally, you have to be able to flirt with ice cubes during Antarctic programs. Even if these two navigations are not scheduled for at least five years.

Yvan Griboval's choice fell on a catamaran of 53 feet (16 meters), built in aluminum by G-Wind Marine in Durban (South Africa) in 2014, from the South African architect Anton Dutoit's plans. This vessel is based in Zanzibar (Indian Ocean). Its repatriation to the OceanoScientific Base of the Rade de Toulon will take place during the month of July 2022, according to a navigation of about forty days on a course of 5,300 to 5,500 nautical miles, or approximately 10,000 kilometers by Gulf of Aden, the Red Sea and avoiding as much as possible the dangerous maritime zone of the Somali coast where piracy remains very active. However, a sailing catamaran is an easy target! This navigation will already be a first adventure and the spirit of Henry de Monfreid will inspire the crew...

LogoOSC-Expedition.jpg

La PLATEFORME OceanoScientific Explorer
LOVE THE OCEAN

"Disposer du plus grand petit navire, ou du plus petit grand navire". C'est ainsi que Yvan Griboval définit la plateforme idéale pour mener les Expéditions OceanoScientific, avec un impératif prioritaire : un coût d'achat et de maintenance les plus faibles qui soient, car "moins on met d'argent dans le matériel nautique, plus on peut en consacrer aux expéditions elles-mêmes et dans le traitement scientifique des données collectées et dans les efforts de mobilisation du grand public".

Depuis son retour du tour du Monde en solitaire à vocation océanographique le 2 juin 2017, Yvan Griboval a étudié pas moins de vingt dossiers de différents navires répartis un peu partout sur la Planète, pour tenter de dénicher le navire le plus polyvalent qui soit.

Il faut que ce voilier soit adapté à un programme de navigations tropicales dans des vents légers, mais à des époques où de gigantesques cyclones peuvent balayer des zones maritimes dépourvues d'abris fiables pour se protéger du déchaînement des éléments - le passage des cyclones Batsirai et Emnati en février dernier aux abords de La Réunion et sur Madagascar, avec des vents supérieurs à 200 km/h et des vagues déferlantes de plus de dix mètres, en atteste.

Il faut aussi être en situation de naviguer en sécurité dans les Quarantièmes Rugissants et les Cinquantièmes Hurlants. Enfin, il faut pouvoir flirter avec les glaçons lors de programmes antarctiques. Même si ces deux navigations ne sont pas programmées avant au minimum cinq ans.

Le choix de Yvan Griboval s'est porté sur un catamaran de 53 pieds (16 mètres), construit en aluminium par G-Wind Marine à Durban (Afrique du Sud) en 2014, sur plans de l'architecte sud-africain Anton Dutoit. Ce navire est basé à Zanzibar (Océan Indien). Son rapatriement vers la Base OceanoScientific de la Rade de Toulon se fera dans le courant du mois de juillet 2022, au gré d'une navigation d'une quarantaine de jours sur un parcours de 5 300 à 5 500 milles nautiques, soit environ 10 000 kilomètres par le Golfe d'Aden, la Mer Rouge et en évitant autant que faire se peut la dangereuse zone maritime des côtes somaliennes où la piraterie demeure très active. Or, un catamaran à voile est une cible facile ! Cette navigation sera déjà une première aventure et l'esprit d'Henry de Monfreid inspirera l'équipage...

​.