Physico-Chemical Scientific Objectives

In 2005, the idea of Yvan Griboval, self-taught without scientific training, was simple: “If we collect the scientific data of the main components of the Climate, by sail, at exactly the same time and in the same place, at the Air-Sea interface, researchers will thus be able to observe the interaction of the various parameters and collect unprecedented information relating to the causes and consequences of climate change”. It is on this concept that the OSC System Version 1.0 was designed in Caen on October 13th, 2009 and put on board of BOOGALOO.

OSC_System-Boogaloo-Caen-13oct09-Lt.jpg

Since October 2009, on the recommendations of Fabienne Gaillard (†) from Ifremer, the OSC System automatically collects scientific data every six seconds from sensors selected by the researchers who guide the development of the OceanoScientific Program; a median of these data is taken between H-10 and H, and then automatically transmitted by satellite to Météo-France and other oceanographic institutes at H+2. Once automatically validated by Météo-France software, OceanoScientific data is made available internationally as open source to meteorologists and climatologists on the Global Telecommunications System (GTS). The data collected every six seconds is recorded on the hard disk of the OSC-Computer thanks to the "secret weapon" of the OSC System: its OSC-Software, very innovative and unique in the world. In order to check the quality of the data recorded, the crew of the OceanoScientific Explorer collects water samples according to various very rigorous procedures. From now on, thanks to the presence of Linn Sekund on board, the OSC System sensors will be regularly recalibrated, in particular the pCO2 sensor that will be calibrated daily.

The data collected are, in the Air: Force and Direction of the wind, Temperature and Humidity of the air, Atmospheric pressure; in the Sea: Temperature and Salinity, Partial pressure of CO2, Acidity (pH), Fluorescence (phytoplankton marker), Dissolved oxygen. Several sensors of the same parameter make it possible to check its relevance. Passive temperature sensors are placed under the hulls, to enhance the accuracy of the data collected and avoid any errors.

2-22-02-10-IRD_IMAGO-D.Diverres-L.Sekund-OSC_System-Lt.jpg

The OSC System Version 4.0, which is being developed here in the workshop of the IRD's IMAGO Unit, by Denis Diverrès and Linn Sekund (Photo dated 02/10/22), will feature a unique innovation to date, intended so that pCO2 data can be compared in real time with all the physico-chemical data collected on board a ship moving, and whatever its speed...

Objectifs scientifiques physico-chimiques

En 2005 l'idée de Yvan Griboval, autodidacte sans formation scientifique, est simple : "Si on collecte, à la voile, exactement au même moment et au même endroit, les données scientifiques des principales composantes du Climat à l'interface Air-Mer, les chercheurs pourront ainsi observer l'interaction des différents paramètres et recueillir des informations inédites relatives aux causes et aux conséquences du dérèglement climatique". C'est sur ce concept qu'est conçu l'OSC System Version 1.0, ici à Caen le 13 octobre 2009, lorsqu'il est mis à bord de BOOGALOO.

OSC_System-Boogaloo-Caen-13oct09-Lt.jpg

Depuis octobre 2009, sur les recommandations de Fabienne Gaillard (†) de l'Ifremer, l'OSC System collecte automatiquement toutes les six secondes les données scientifiques issues de capteurs sélectionnés par les chercheurs qui guident le développement du Programme OceanoScientific ; une médiane de ces données est effectuée entre H-10 et H, puis transmise automatiquement par satellite à Météo-France et à d'autres instituts océanographiques à H+2. Une fois validées automatiquement par les logiciels de Météo-France, les données OceanoScientific sont mises en open source internationalement à la disposition des météorologues et climatologues sur le Global Telecommunications System (GTS). Les données recueillies toutes les six secondes sont enregistrées sur le disque dur de l'OSC-Computer grâce à "l'arme secrète" de l'OSC System : son OSC-Software, très innovant et unique au Monde. Afin de vérifier la qualité des données enregistrées, l'équipage de l'OceanoScientific Explorer recueille des échantillons d'eau selon différentes procédures très rigoureuses. Désormais, grâce à la présence de Linn Sekund à bord, les capteurs de l'OSC System seront régulièrement recalibrés, notamment le capteur de pCO2 qui le sera quotidiennement.

Les données collectées sont, dans l'Air : Force et Direction du vent, Température et Humidité de l'air, Pression atmosphérique ; dans la Mer : Température et Salinité, Pression partielle de CO2, Acidité (pH), Fluorescence (marqueur du phytoplancton), Oxygène dissous. Plusieurs capteurs d'un même paramètre permettent d'en contrôler la pertinence. Des capteurs Température passifs sont placés sous les coques, pour renforcer la précision des données collectées et éviter toute erreur.

2-22-02-10-IRD_IMAGO-D.Diverres-L.Sekund-OSC_System-Lt.jpg

L'OSC System Version 4.0, qui est mis au point ici dans l'atelier de l'Unité IMAGO de l'IRD par Denis Diverrès et Linn Sekund (Photo du 10/02/22), va comporter une innovation unique à ce jour, destinée à ce que les données pCO2 puissent être comparées en temps réel à toutes les données physico-chimiques collectées à bord d'un navire se déplaçant et quelle que soit sa vitesse...