Genetic Scientific Objective

The catamaran OceanoScientific Explorer called LOVE THE OCEAN will be equipped with a very innovative DNA / RNA sequencing station, recreating the conditions of a scientific laboratory on land. This station will be adapted to mainly solar, wind and tidal energy. Several freezers will be exclusively dedicated to samples to be stored at -20°.

Four major families of marine organisms will be bioprospected:  Anthozoans  (Coral - Sea Anemones - Jellyfish),  Ascidians  (Invertebrates),  sponges  (Sponges),  Plants  (Algae). Four samples of a size of three to five centimeters will be taken. They will be comparable to the lock of hair of a human being. Nothing painful or disabling for the body.  The first sample will be sequenced as soon as it comes out of the water to identify its DNA and RNA.

The second sample will be preserved according to very rigorous procedures to be transmitted to the researchers of the National Museum of Natural History (MNHN) who will study it later in the laboratory. The third sample will be sent to Professor Mohamed Mehiri (Teacher-Researcher at the Insitut de Chimie de Nice and Deputy Director of the Institut Fédératif de Recherche - Ressources Marines) for traditional biological study with his doctoral students. The fourth sample will be carefully preserved: either for another scientific use to be defined, or to enrich the collections of the MNHN if it is an organism that is still little known.

The genetic sequences obtained on board the catamaran LOVE THE OCEAN and, ashore, at the premises of the OceanoScientific Academy  (Toulon), will be made available primarily to bioinformatics students who will work to highlight molecules of interest, in conjunction with HealthTechs gathered within France Biotech.

22-02-22-Ecole_ADN-L.Sekund-C.Siatka-C.Di_Santos-Photo_YG-2Lt.jpg

Tuesday February 22, 2022, in Nîmes, Professor Christian Siatka introduces Linn Sekund (left) and Carla Di Santo (right) from OceanoScientific to the very rigorous methods of DNA / RNA sequencing, in the premises of the DNA School within the Museum of Natural History. Once the laboratory courses are completed in July, practical work will be carried out on board the LOVE THE OCEAN sailboat in October departing from La Grande Motte, with the sequencing equipment on board.

Objectifs scientifiques génétiques

Le catamaran OceanoScientific Explorer dénommé LOVE THE OCEAN sera équipé d'une station de séquençage ADN / ARN très innovante, recréant les conditions d'un laboratoire scientifique à terre. Cette station sera adaptée à une énergie principalement solaire, éolienne et hydrolienne. Plusieurs congélateurs seront exclusivement dédiés aux échantillons à conserver à -20°.

Quatre grandes familles d'organismes marins vont être bioprospectées : Anthozoaires (Corail - Anémones de mer - Méduses), Ascidies (Invertébrés), Spongiaires (Éponges), Végétaux (Algues). Quatre échantillons d'une taille de trois à cinq centimètres seront prélevés. Ils seront comparables à la mèche de cheveux d'un être humain. Rien de douloureux ou d'handicapant pour l'organisme. Le premier échantillon sera séquencé aussitôt sorti de l'eau pour identifier son ADN et son ARN.

Le second échantillon sera conservé selon des procédures très rigoureuses pour être transmis aux chercheurs du Muséum National d'Histoire Naturel (MNHN) qui l'étudiera ultérieurement en laboratoire. Le troisième échantillon sera transmis au Professeur Mohamed Mehiri (Enseignant- chercheur de l’Institut de Chimie de Nice et Directeur adjoint de l’Institut Fédératif de Recherche Ressources Marines) pour étude biologique traditionnelle avec ses doctorants. Le quatrième échantillon sera précieusement conservé : soit pour un autre usage scientifique à définir, soit pour enrichir les collections du MNHN s'il s'agit d'un organisme encore méconnu.

Les séquences génétiques obtenues à bord du catamaran LOVE THE OCEAN et, à terre, dans les locaux de l'OceanoScientific Academy (Toulon), seront prioritairement mises à disposition des étudiants bio-informaticiens qui travailleront à la mise en exergue de molécules d'intérêt, en relation avec des HealthTechs réunies au sein de France Biotech.

22-02-22-Ecole_ADN-L.Sekund-C.Siatka-C.Di_Santos-Photo_YG-2Lt.jpg

Mardi 22 février 2022, à Nîmes, le Professeur Christian Siatka initie Linn Sekund (à gauche) et Carla Di Santo de OceanoScientific aux méthodes très rigoureuses de séquençage ADN / ARN, dans les locaux de l'École de l'ADN au sein du Muséum d'Histoire Naturelle. Une fois les cours en laboratoire terminés en juillet, des travaux pratiques seront effectués à bord du voilier LOVE THE OCEAN en octobre au départ de la Grande Motte, avec le matériel de séquençage embarqué.