LogoOSC-Expedition.jpg

OceanoScientific Expeditions
Coral Reefs 2022-2027

General management

YvanGriboval-Lt-Sep2018_edited.jpg

Expedition Director & Coordinator: Yvan Griboval

Self-taught - Professional offshore racer (1975-1989), Winner of the Whitbread Around The World Race 1985-86, the round-the-world crewed race on board L'Esprit d'Équipe skippered by Lionel Péan; Print and TV journalist (1979-1989); Designer and organizer of thirty editions of the Trophée des Champions de Voile (1990-2013).

 

Yvan Griboval, 65 years old, has created and develops the OceanoScientific program since 2006 to automatically collect high quality scientific data at the Air-Sea interface where the Climate is at stake and automatically transfer them by satellite every hour to the international scientific community.

From November 2016 to June 2017 Yvan Griboval successfully completed the first single-handed oceanographic sailing expedition around the world under the three continental capes:

Good-Hope, Leeuwin and Cape Horn.

Scientific Direction

Scientific Director: Thierry Pérez

Thierry Perez is an Oceanographer and Marine ecologist trained at the Station Marine d'Endoume; CNRS Research Director at the Institut Méditerranéen de Biodiversité et d’Écologie marine et continentale - IMBE and Deputy Director of the OSU Institut Pythéas, in charge of the Station Marine d'Endoume. An internationally renowned spongiologist, he has described nearly 50 different species of sponges. Thierry Pérez has coordinated several essential programs that have led to the emergence of marine metabolomics and has led major oceanographic expeditions and training activities in France and abroad, including the management of an International Associated Laboratory with Brazil. Member of scientific entities involved in the research and preservation of ocean biodiversity, he is Chairman of the Scientific Committee of the Laboratoire d'Excellence Corail. Thierry Pérez is Head of Scientific Diving CNRS.

Thierry-Perez.png

Scientific Advisor on Genetics: Christian Siatka

Christian-Siatka.png

Professor Christian Siatka, a geneticist and toxicologist, is a University Professor at the Université de Nîmes, Deputy Director of the BIOTIN Master's program and Head of the Professional Degree in Biotechnology. He teaches Molecular Genetics, Biotechnology, Toxicology and Regulation/Quality. Christian Siatka is Director of the Genotyping and Genomics Platform of the École de l'ADN, chaired by Professor Philippe Berta. He is a member of the CHROME Research unit at the Université de Nîmes and is involved in Research programs in Human Genetics, Environmental Genetics and Functional Genomics. Christian Siatka is Lieutenant-Colonel in the Citizen's Reserve - Pôle Judiciaire of the National Gendarmerie and he is an expert for the European Commission.

Scientific Advisor in Underwater Robotics

& Interventions under the sea: Didier Leandri

Professor Didier Leandri is an engineer and Sc PhD in Underwater Robotics Research and Undersea Systems. University Professor at the Université de Toulon, Didier Leandri is Head of naval and undersea robotics department at the SeaTech engineering school. He specifically teaches Naval Systems and Autonomous Underwater Systems, which are the future of underwater interventions, whether scientific, military or civilian. Didier Leandri is Head of the "Robotics and Environment" team of the CNRS Genomic and Structural Information Laboratory - Joint Research Unit 7256. Didier Leandri is an expert in underwater robotics projects, of seabed mapping, identification and detection of objects for the French Direction Générale de l'Armement (DGA) and the French Navy.

Portrait-Didier_Leandri-04sep22-RLt.jpg

Coordinator of the physico-chemical 

parameters observations: Lucie Cocquempot

Portrait-Lucie.Cocquempot-04sep22-1RLt.jpg

Lucie Cocquempot, Engineer in physical oceanography, coordinates the observation networks within the Institut Français de Recherche pour l’Exploitation de la Mer - Ifremer and she is a member of boards of directors of national research infrastructures dedicated to understanding the ocean. She is renowned for her skills in facilitating cross-cutting groups specialized in the definition & implementation of international observation strategies and data management for better understanding of the Ocean.

Lucie Cocquempot is involved from the design and definition of the sensor's implementation procedures to the study and the valorization of the physico-chemical data collected. She coordinates relations within Ifremer with Doctor Thierry Reynaud (Temperature/Salinity) and with Doctor Jean-Louis Gonzales (Contaminants).

Linn Sekund is Scientific Coordinator of OceanoScientific. She holds a Master's degree in Conservation from marine biodiversity and a Bachelor's degree in environmental management. She is responsible for the OSC System development.

 

As a diver, Linn Sekund will be co-responsible with Carla Di Santo for bioprospecting under the guidance of Doctor Thierry Pérez and responsible for DNA/RNA sequencing on board, trained by Professor Christian Siatka.

 

Linn Sekund will complete a thesis under the supervision of Pr. C. Siatka.

Photo-Linn_Sekund.jpg
Photo-Carla_Di_Santo-Microscope-R.jpg

Carla Di Santo is Scientific Coordinator of OceanoScientific. She is a taxonomist with a Master's degree in aquatic bioresources combined with a Diploma as a Project Manager in sustainable aquaculture and fisheries. Her studies focused on marine molecules of therapeutic interest.

 

A highly qualified professional diver, she will be the Dive Leader of the OceanoScientific Expeditions.

 

Carla Di Santo will complete a thesis under the supervision of Dr. T. Pérez.

Operational team

CdE-PhotoOfficielle3RLt-21jul15.jpg

Cecile d'Estais-Griboval had a long career as a financial analyst in Consumer Goods, Luxury & Cosmetics, then as a senior banker before joining OceanoScientific with her husband and father of their fifteen-year-old triplets. Cécile d'Estais-Griboval is General Delegate of the philanthropic association of general interest OceanoScientific, in charge of the implementation of communication, relations with partners and the mobilization of CE2-CM1-CM2 schoolchildren. During the OceanoScientific Expeditions, she is the contact point between the OceanoScientific Explorer LOVE THE OCEAN  and Earth in order to relay partners and media's expectations, and to prepare technical stopovers. She is also responsible for the conferences organization to share the adventures of the crew.

Shark Safety and Underwater Images: 

Steven Surina 

Steven Surina will be responsible for the diving safety supervision during the dives, through the "dialogue" with the sharks and he will make the underwater video reports. A master of shark body language interpretation, Steven Surina conducts nearly 300 dives a year with tourists in contact with sharks. Steven Surina is one of the few divers specialized in understanding the behavior of large sharks, his friends... Due to their extraordinary biodiversity, the Eparses Islands are a first-class larder for the largest sharks... With Steven Surina, we will make you love sharks.

Photo-Steven_Surina.png
Photo-Maxime_Dreno-1RLt.jpg

Maxime Dréno is the faithful Second of Yvan Griboval since April 2014. Together, they have traveled several dozen thousands of nautical miles, almost always double-handed. Professional sailor, Maxime has been to the Arctic polar zones on the sailboat ATKA.

 

Maxime Dréno was the preparator of the successful single-handed round the world of Yvan Girboval (OceanoScientific Expedition 2016-2017). He participates in the refit of the catamaran LOVE THE OCEAN. He will be Boat Captain and Yvan Griboval's Second in command during the OceanoScientific Expeditions, in charge of the rigging, fittings and sails. He will also be Watch Leader, as usual.

Florian Fernandez studied computer science and project management until he decided that this was not the right path for him and that it would be better to live his passion: sailing and concrete actions to discover and raise awareness of the preservation of the Ocean. He  will follow a Captain 200 Sailor training.

Photo-Florian_Fernandez-R.jpg
Photo-Christian_Dumard.png

Christian Dumard is a weather consultant for sailors. He accompanies famous skippers during major oceanic competitions and sailing records. He is Yvan Griboval's regular router, notably during his single-handed round the world OceanoScientific Expedition 2016-2017. Christian Dumard will monitor the evolution of tropical depressions and cyclones.

Justine Camus  has a Master's degree in Information and Communication, completed with a Bachelor's degree in Humanities and Social Sciences as well as a University Diploma in Business and Administration Management. Justine has always been dedicated to defending the marine environment and its inhabitants, in turn involved in the associations SOS Grand Bleu, The Animal Fund, Project Ningaloo (Australia), Juara Turtle Project (Malaysia). Justine will hold the position of Media woman, in charge of communication from the OceanoScientific Explorer to the Earth: video editing and their distribution, animation of social networks and website's updating.

Photo-Justine_Camus-3RLt.jpg

LogoOSC-Expedition.jpg

Expéditions OceanoScientific
Récifs Coralliens 2022-2027

Direction Générale

YvanGriboval-Lt-Sep2018_edited.jpg

Directeur d'Expédition & Coordinateur : Yvan Griboval

Autodidacte - Coureur au large professionnel (1975-1989), Vainqueur de la Whitbread Around The World Race 1985-86, la course autour du monde en équipage à bord de L'Esprit d'Equipe skippé par Lionel Péan ; Journaliste presse écrite et TV (1979-1989) ; Concepteur et organisateur de trente éditions du Trophée des Champions de Voile (1990-2013).

 

Yvan Griboval, 65 ans, a créé et développe depuis 2006 le Programme OceanoScientific pour collecter automatiquement des données scientifiques de qualité à l'interface Air-Mer où se joue le Climat et les transférer automatiquement par satellite toutes les heures à la communauté scientifique internationale.

De novembre 2016 à juin 2017 Yvan Griboval a réalisé avec succès la première expédition océanographique à la voile en solitaire autour du monde sous les trois caps continentaux :

Bonne-Espérance, Leeuwin et Cap Horn.

Direction Scientifique

Directeur Scientifique : Thierry Pérez

Thierry Pérez est Océanographe et Écologue marin formé à la Station Marine d’Endoume ; Directeur de Recherches CNRS à l’Institut Méditerranéen de Biodiversité et d’Écologie marine et continentale - IMBE et Directeur Adjoint de l’OSU Institut Pythéas, en charge notamment de la Station Marine d’Endoume. Spongiologue internationalement reconnu, il a décrit près de 50 espèces différentes d’éponges. Thierry Pérez a coordonné plusieurs programmes essentiels qui ont fait émerger la métabolomique marine et a conduit de grandes expéditions océanographiques et des actions de formation en France et à l’étranger, dont la direction d'un Laboratoire International Associé avec le Brésil. Membre d’instances scientifiques en lien avec la recherche et la préservation de la biodiversité océanique, il est Président du Comité Scientifique du Laboratoire d’Excellence Corail. Thierry Pérez est Chef de Plongée Scientifique CNRS.

Thierry-Perez.png

Conseiller Scientifique en Génétique : Christian Siatka

Christian-Siatka.png

Le Professeur Christian Siatka, généticien, toxicologue, est Professeur des Universités à l’Université de Nîmes, Directeur Adjoint du Master BIOTIN et Responsable de la Licence Professionnelle des Métiers de la Biotechnologie. Il enseigne la Génétique Moléculaire, la Biotechnique, la Toxicologie et la Réglementation/Qualité. Christian Siatka est Directeur de la plateforme de Génotypage et de Génomique de l’École de l’ADN, présidée par le Professeur Philippe Berta. Il est membre de l’Unité de recherche CHROME de l’Université de Nîmes et est impliqué dans des programmes de recherche en Génétique Humaine, Génétique Environnementale et Génomique Fonctionnelle. Christian Siatka est Lieutenant-Colonel de la Réserve citoyenne - Pôle Judicaire de la Gendarmerie Nationale et il est Expert auprès de la Commission Européenne.

Conseiller Scientifique en Robotique Sous-Marine

& Interventions sous la mer : Didier Leandri

Le Professeur Didier Leandri est ingénieur, Docteur Habilité à Diriger des Recherches en Robotique Sous-Marine & Systèmes Embarqués. Professeur des Universités à l’Université de Toulon, Didier Leandri est Responsable de la formation en robotique navale de l’école d’ingénieurs SeaTech. Il y enseigne spécifiquement les Systèmes Navals et les Systèmes Sous-Marins Autonomes qui sont l’avenir des interventions sous-marines, qu’elles soient scientifiques, militaires ou civiles. Didier Leandri est responsable de l’équipe "Robotique et Environnement" du Laboratoire Information Génomique et Structurale CNRS - Unité Mixte de Recherche 7256. Didier Leandri est expert en projets de robotique sous-marine, de cartographie des fonds marins, d’identification et de détections des objets pour la Direction Générale de l’Armement - DGA et la Marine Nationale.

Portrait-Didier_Leandri-04sep22-RLt.jpg

Coordinatrice des observations des paramètres

physico-chimiques : Lucie Cocquempot

Portrait-Lucie.Cocquempot-04sep22-1RLt.jpg

Lucie Cocquempot, Ingénieure en océanographie physique, coordonne les réseaux d'observation au sein de l'Institut Français de Recherche pour l’Exploitation de la Mer - Ifremer et elle est membre de conseils d'administration d’infrastructures nationales de recherche dédiées à la compréhension de l’Océan. Elle est réputée pour ses compétences relatives à l'animation de groupes transversaux spécialisés dans la définition et la mise en œuvre de stratégies internationales d'observation et de gestion de données pour une meilleure connaissance de l’Océan.

Lucie Cocquempot intervient de la conception et définition des procédures de mise en œuvre des capteurs jusqu’à l’étude et la valorisation des données physico-chimiques recueillies. Elle coordonne les relations au sein de l’Ifremer avec le Docteur Thierry Reynaud (Température/Salinité) et avec le Docteur Jean-Louis Gonzales (Contaminants).

Linn Sekund est Coordinatrice Scientifique de OceanoScientific. Elle dispose d'un Master en conservation de la biodiversité marine et d'une Licence en management environnemental. Elle est chargée du développement de l'OSC System. 

 

Plongeuse, Linn Sekund sera co-responsable avec Carla Di Santo de la bioprospection sous les directives du Docteur Thierry Pérez et responsable des séquençages ADN/ARN à bord, formée par le Professeur Christian Siatka.

 

Linn Sekund réalisera une thèse sous la direction du Professeur C. Siatka.

Photo-Linn_Sekund.jpg
Photo-Carla_Di_Santo-Microscope-R.jpg

Carla Di Santo est Coordinatrice Scientifique de OceanoScientific. Taxonomiste dotée d'un Master en bioressources aquatiques associé à un Diplôme de chef de projets en aquaculture durable et halieutique, ses sujets d'études portaient sur les molécules marines d'intérêt thérapeutique.

 

Plongeuse professionnelle très diplômée, Carla Di Santo sera Responsable de plongée des Expéditions OceanoScientific.

 

Carla Di Santo réalisera une thèse sous la direction du Docteur T. Pérez.

Équipe opérationnelle

CdE-PhotoOfficielle3RLt-21jul15.jpg

Cécile d'Estais-Griboval a réalisé un long parcours d'analyste financier en Biens de consommation, Luxe & Cosmétiques, puis de senior banker avant avant d'épauler dans OceanoScientific son mari et père de leurs triplés de quinze ans. Cécile d’Estais-Griboval est Déléguée Général de l’association philanthropique d’intérêt général OceanoScientific, en charge de la mise en œuvre de la communication, des relations avec les partenaires et de la mobilisation des scolaires de CE2-CM1-CM2. Durant les Expéditions OceanoScientific, elle est la vigie qui établit les contacts entre l’OceanoScientific Explorer LOVE THE OCEAN et la Terre pour relayer les attentes des partenaires et des médias, pour préparer les escales techniques. Elle est également en responsabilité des conférences qui permettent de partager les aventures de l’équipage.

Sécurité requins et Images sous-marines : 

Steven Surina 

Steven Surina sera Responsable de l'encadrement sécurité en plongée par le "dialogue" avec les squales et il réalisera les reportages vidéo sous-marins. Maître en interprétation du langage corporel des requins, Steven Surina effectue près de 300 plongées par an avec des touristes au contact des requins. Steven Surina est un des rares plongeurs spécialisé dans le décryptage du comportement des grands squales, ses amis... Du fait de leur extraordinaire biodiversité, les Iles Éparses sont un garde-manger de premier choix pour les plus grands squales... Avec Steven Surina, nous vous ferons aimer les requins.

Photo-Steven_Surina.png
Photo-Maxime_Dreno-1RLt.jpg

Maxime Dréno est le fidèle Second de Yvan Griboval depuis avril 2014. Ensemble, ils ont parcouru plusieurs dizaines de milliers de milles nautiques, quasiment toujours en double. Marin professionnel, Maxime a fréquenté les zones polaires arctiques sur le voilier ATKA.

 

Préparateur, Maxime Dréno a œuvré au succès du tour du Monde en solo de Yvan Griboval (Expédition OceanoScientific 2016-2017). Il participe à la transformation du catamaran LOVE THE OCEAN. Il sera Boat Captain et Second de Yvan Griboval lors des Expéditions OceanoScientific, en charge du gréement, de l'accastillage et des voiles. Il sera également Chef de quart, comme à son habitude.

Florian Fernandez a suivi un cursus en informatique & gestion de projets, jusqu'à considérer que ce n'était pas sa voie et qu'il valait mieux vivre sa passion : la voile et les actions concrètes de découverte et de sensibilisation à la préservation de l'Océan. Il suivra une formation de Capitaine 200 Voile.

Photo-Florian_Fernandez-R.jpg
Photo-Christian_Dumard.png

Christian Dumard est consultant météo au service des navigateurs. Il accompagne de célèbres skippers lors de grandes compétitions océaniques et de records à la voile. C’est le routeur habituel de Yvan Griboval, notamment lors de son tour Monde en solitaire 2016-2017. Christian Dumard surveillera l’évolution des dépressions tropicales et des cyclones.

Justine Camus est dotée d'un Master en Information et communication, complété d'une Licence en Sciences humaines et sociales ainsi que d'un Diplôme Universitaire de Gestion des entreprises et des administrations. Justine s'est toujours consacrée à la défense du milieu marin et de ses habitants, tour à tour engagée dans les associations SOS Grand Bleu, The Animal Fund, Project Ningaloo (Australie), Juara Turtle Project (Malaisie). Justine occupera la fonction de Media woman, en charge de la communication de l'OceanoScientific Explorer vers la Terre : montage de reportages courts et leur diffusion, animation des réseaux sociaux et mise à jour du site internet.

Photo-Justine_Camus-3RLt.jpg