LogoOSC-Expedition.jpg

Eparses Islands Expedition 2022-2023

Monday, March 14, 2022

 Preparation of scientific equipment and procedures 

The scientific team of the OceanoScientific association is expanding and progressing in the preparation of the OceanoScientific Expeditions 2022-2027. On the one hand, the definition of procedures relating to DNA and RNA sequencing of samples of marine organisms. They will be carried out on board the new OceanoScientific Explorer called LOVE THE OCEAN during next winter (austral summer). On the other hand, the constituent equipment of Version 3.0 of the OSC System. The technical collaboration with the antenna of the Institute of Research for Development (IRD) of Plouzané (Brest - France) thus continues under the directives of the engineer Denis Diverrès, whose wise advice allowed the success of the 2016-2017 OceanoScientific Expedition under 40th South. As for the great innovation which will consist in carrying out the genetic sequencing of marine organisms from the coral reefs of the French islands of the Indian Ocean on a sailboat, a partnership has been implemented with the École de l'ADN directed by Professor Christian Siatka in Nîmes (France). 

1-22-02-22-Ecole_ADN-L.Sekund-C.Siatka-C.Di_Santos-Photo_YG-1Lt.jpg

On February 22 and 23, 2022, in the premises of the École de l'ADN in Nîmes, Linn Sekund, on the left, and Carla Di Santo supervise Professor Christian Siatka who teaches them the essential gestures of the sequencing procedures that they will have to implement on board the LOVE THE OCEAN catamaran. PhotoOceanoScientific

After Linn Sekund, a Swedish woman with a master's degree in marine biodiversity conservation obtained in Portugal after a degree in environmental management in Great Britain, who joined the  OceanoScientific Expeditions in the course of 2020 as Scientific Coordinator, it is Carla Di Santo's turn to join the OceanoScientific association at the start of 2022. Previously a laboratory technician in medical microbiology, responsible for marine conservation programs in the Maldives or a professional diver in Marseille, Carla Di Santo holds a master's degree in aquatic bio-resources completed by a project manager diploma in sustainable aquaculture and fisheries from the University of Montpellier. In the OceanoScientific team, Carla Di Santo is both Scientific Coordinator and Dive Manager.

 

For her part, last year, Linn Sekund supplemented her scientific and environmental skills with professional diving training. Both will indeed work in tandem to collect samples of marine organisms on the coral reefs, then to carry out the sequencing as soon as they return on board LOVE THE OCEAN.

 

This bioprospecting will target four distinct families of marine organisms: anthozoa (coral, anemones, jellyfish); ascidians (invertebrates); sponges (sponges); plants (algae). The objective is as much the search for unknown or genetically misunderstood marine organisms as the preservation of the genetic heritage of the French underwater domain, the largest in the world.

 

The genetic sequences that will result from these bioprospects will be carefully stored in a cloud to be accessible as a priority to French students, scientific institutes, but also to Health and Well-being manufacturers. In this way, it will be possible to economically and virtuously exploit these fantastic French natural resources through biomimicry. It is a concrete way to preserve life on the reefs by avoiding looting. It is also an opportunity to preserve the genetic heritage of organisms that have lived on the planet for several hundred million years (cnidaria / anthozoa) and which are now threatened with extinction due to the increase in temperature and acidity of seawater, direct consequences of human activity (anthropism).

2-22-02-10-IRD_IMAGO-D.Diverres-L.Sekund-OSC_System-Lt.jpg

Using technology from the OSC System Version 2.1 which successfully operated around the world during the austral summer of 2016-2017, Denis Diverrès and Linn Sekund are currently designing Version 3.0, as seen here on February 10, 2022 in the workshop of the IRD IMAGO branch of the Ifremer Campus in Plouzané (Brest - France).

Photo OceanoScientific

In the DNA School lab, Linn Sekund, left, and Carla Di Santo familiarize themselves with the equipment they will use aboard the catamaran LOVE THE OCEAN when they are on the French coral reefs of the islands of the Indian Ocean, at the very beginning of the year 2023. Photo École de l'ADN

3-22-02-23-Ecole_ADN-Linn_Sekund-Carla_Di_Santos-Photo_C.Siatka-Lt.jpg

LogoOSC-Expedition.jpg

Expédition
Iles Éparses
2022-2023

Lundi 14 mars 2022

 Préparation des équipements et procédures scientifiques 

L’équipe scientifique de l'association OceanoScientific s'élargit et progresse dans la préparation des Expéditions OceanoScientific 2022-2027. D'un côté, la définition des procédures relatives aux séquençages ADN et ARN d'échantillons d'organismes marins. Ils seront réalisés à bord du nouvel OceanoScientific Explorer dénommé LOVE THE OCEAN durant l'hiver prochain (été austral). De l'autre, les équipements constitutifs de la Version 3.0 de l'OSC System. La collaboration technique avec l'antenne de l'Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD) de Plouzané (Brest - France) se prolonge ainsi sous les directives de l'ingénieur Denis Diverrès, dont les conseils avisés permirent le succès de l'Expédition OceanoScientific 2016-2017 sous le 40e Sud. Quant à la grande innovation qui va consister à réaliser le séquençage génétique d'organismes marins des récifs coralliens des îles françaises de l'Océan Indien sur un voilier, un partenariat est mis en œuvre avec l'École de l'ADN dirigée par le Professeur Christian Siatka à Nîmes (France). 

1-22-02-22-Ecole_ADN-L.Sekund-C.Siatka-C.Di_Santos-Photo_YG-1Lt.jpg

Les 22 et 23 février 2022, dans les locaux de l'École de l'ADN à Nîmes, Linn Sekund, à gauche et Carla Di Santo encadrent le Professeur Christian Siatka qui leur apprend les gestes essentiels des procédures de séquençage qu'elles auront à mettre en œuvre à bord du catamaran LOVE THE OCEAN. Photo OceanoScientific

Après Linn Sekund, Suédoise dotée d'un master de conservation de la biodiversité marine obtenu au Portugal après une licence en management environnemental en Grande-Bretagne, qui a rejoint les Expéditions OceanoScientific dans le courant de l'année 2020 au poste de Coordinatrice Scientifique, c'est au tour de Carla Di Santo d'intégrer l'association OceanoScientific en ce début d'année 2022. Antérieurement technicienne de laboratoire en microbiologie médicale, responsable de programmes de conservation marine aux Maldives ou plongeuse professionnelle à Marseille, Carla Di Santo est titulaire d'un master en bio-ressources aquatiques complété d'un diplôme de chef de projets en aquaculture durable et halieutique de l'Université de Montpellier. Dans l'équipe OceanoScientific, Carla Di Santo est à la fois Coordinatrice Scientifique et Responsable de Plongée.

 

De son côté, l'an dernier, Linn Sekund a complété ses compétences scientifiques et environnementales par une formation professionnelle de plongée. Toutes deux travailleront en effet en tandem pour recueillir les échantillons d'organismes marins sur les récifs coralliens, puis pour en réaliser le séquençage dès leur retour à bord du catamaran LOVE THE OCEAN.

 

Cette bioprospection ciblera quatre familles distinctes d'organismes marins : anthozoaires (corail, anémones, méduses) ; ascidies (invertébrés) ; spongiaires (éponges) ; végétaux (algues). L'objectif est autant la recherche d'organismes marins inconnus ou méconnus génétiquement, que la préservation du patrimoine génétique du domaine sous-marin français, le plus étendu au Monde.

 

Les séquences génétiques qui résulteront de ces bioprospections seront précieusement stockées dans un cloud afin d'être accessibles prioritairement aux étudiants français, aux instituts scientifiques, mais également aux industriels de la Santé et du Bien-être. De cette manière, il sera possible d'exploiter économiquement et vertueusement ces fantastiques ressources naturelles françaises par biomimétisme. C'est une manière concrète de préserver la vie sur les récifs en évitant le pillage. C'est aussi l'occasion de préserver le patrimoine génétique d'organismes qui vivent sur la Planète depuis plusieurs centaines de millions d'années (cnidaires / anthozoaires) et qui sont aujourd'hui menacés de disparaitre du fait de l'augmentation de la température et de l'acidité de l'eau de mer, conséquences directes de l'activité humaine (anthropisme).

2-22-02-10-IRD_IMAGO-D.Diverres-L.Sekund-OSC_System-Lt.jpg

En utilisant la technologie de l'OSC System Version 2.1 qui a fonctionné avec succès autour du monde durant l'été austral 2016-2017, Denis Diverrès et Linn Sekund conçoivent actuellement la Version 3.0, comme ici le 10 février 2022 dans l'atelier de l'antenne IRD IMAGO du Campus Ifremer de Plouzané (Brest - France). Photo OceanoScientific

Dans le laboratoire de l'École de l'ADN, Linn Sekund, à gauche et Carla Di Santo se familiarisent avec le matériel qu'elles utiliseront à bord du catamaran LOVE THE OCEAN lorsqu'elles seront sur les récifs coralliens français des îles de l'Océan Indien, au tout début de l'année 2023. Photo École de l'ADN

3-22-02-23-Ecole_ADN-Linn_Sekund-Carla_Di_Santos-Photo_C.Siatka-Lt.jpg