Comité Scientifique

Fabienne Gaillard

Ever since its creation on 14 November 2006, the OceanoScientific Programme established as a founding principle the commitment to scrupulously follow the recommendations of scientists, with particular regard to the choice of sensors to be used and the procedures for their implementation. When the OceanoScientific philanthropic association and registered charity was created on 7 January 2011 by Jean-François Leprince-Ringuet (President-founder), André Ladurelli (✞) and Rupert Schmid, that principle was adopted as an inalienable rule.

 

At the end of the 2016-2017 OceanoScientific Expedition - a successful first in oceanographic campaigns in the 40°/60° South corridor - the decision was taken to strengthen the governance of the association with an expanded Board of Trustees. Due to the nature of the scientific projects to be implemented in the coming years (2018-2021), the Board decided to endow the association with a committee of eminent scientists working on the various parameters for which the OceanoScientific Expeditions can collect quality data, samples and observations. 

 

The result is the constitution of the Fabienne Gaillard Scientific Committee

Fabienne Gaillard(✞) - Researcher - physicist

Laboratoire d’Océanographie Physique et Spatiale (LOPS - Ifremer)

"On Tuesday, 14 November 2006, the actual start date of the OceanoScientific Programme in Paris at the Laboratoire d'Océanographie et du Climat : Expérimentations et Approches Numériques (LOCEAN) then headed by Laurence Eymard, Ifremer associate Fabienne Gaillard provided me with her support and usual enthusiasm and expertise. She was an efficient guide, so much so that I used to portray her as the "Mom of the OceanoScientific Programme", whose degree of commitment, generosity and goodwill towards the project was always sincere and wholehearted. For many years Fabienne headed the Laboratoire de Physique des Océans (LPO) for which she worked from the very beginning and "represented in the Laboratoire d’Océanographie Physique et Spatiale (LOPS) a personality of scientific rigor", as bore witness Antoine Dosdat, Director of Ifremer site in Plouzané (Brest) on 30 March 2017. Suffering from a serious orphan disease that inexorably took its toll, Fabienne fought for several years like a sailor in a storm. A hurricane even. But one that never ceased, and finally took her with it on Saturday, 25 March 2017, while I was sailing single-handed less than 24 hours from Cape Horn, effectively operating the OSC System that she had so much helped to design. It is therefore perfectly legitimate that the association's Scientific Committee should be named after Fabienne Gaillard and I shall continue to take her with me on the next OceanoScientific Expeditions..." Yvan Griboval, President of OceanoScientific.

Didier Zoccola - Director of the Fabienne Gaillard Scientific Committee

Molecular biologist studying the physiology of reef corals, Didier Zoccola Ph.D. is since 2000 senior scientist at the Centre Scientifique de Monaco (CSM) with a focus on biomineralization and symbiosis. For more than 15 years, he has combined molecular biology, biochemistry and immunochemistry to understand how corals build their skeletons, focusing on: (i) how ions are regulated during skeletogenesis, and (ii) the role of the organic matrix in biomineralization. Ocean acidification (OA) reduces rates at which reef corals calcify, and therefore, naturally, Didier Zoccola begun to carry out mechanistic studies regarding OA and biomineralization. Dr. Zoccola defended his Ph.D. in 1993 in Life Sciences (speciality immunology) from the University of Nice - Sophia Antipolis, and worked after that at the Nice Hospital. His passion for the sea and scuba diving led him naturally to marine biology and coral reef science. He took part in expeditions: Tara Ocean (2010), Tara Pacific (2017-2018). In the new expedition launch by the Principality of Monaco, “Monaco Explorations”, he was in charge of implementations of facilities on-board such as the different laboratories and instruments. Furthermore, he is the coordinator of the CSM scientific project for Monaco Explorations and he is also Tara Pacific coordinator (Symbiont and Host aspects).

Linn Sekunf - General Secretary of the Fabienne Gaillard Scientific Committee

Marine scientist, Linn Sekund, is specialized since 2015 in the study of coral reefs. After graduating with an international master in Conservation of Marine Biodiversity (University of the Algarve and University of Galway - EMBC) she explores the world to improve her knowledge about the rich and fascinating life on the reefs. During one year in the Maldives, as a marine biologist, Linn is alerted by the challenges the world’s ocean is facing, such as plastic pollution and coral bleaching. In 2017, she starts a job as marine data engineer at IFREMER in Brest for the Data Cluster ODATIS. An experience that allowed her to acquire a global vision about ocean observation data made in the ocean and at its interface. Linn has also been actively involved in the oceanographic campaign RREX 2017 in the North Atlantic. In 2019, she has the opportunity to connect with the University of Queensland, where major coral reef research is carried out. Today she joins the team of OceanoScientific as scientific coordinator. She will, among other things, ensure the relationship with partner scientists, the calibration of the sensors and the sampling on board OceanoScientific Expeditions.

Denis Allemand - Biology marine

Scientific Director of the Scientific Center of Monaco (CSM) and Professor of University, Denis Allemand obtained his doctorate in 1986 at the University of Montpellier II (France) in Pharmacological sciences and Endocrinology. His main field of research concerns the physiology of marine organisms, mainly corals, and their use as model organisms to understand the major problems of biology (biomineralization, symbiosis, evolution...). He is also studying the effect of ocean acidification on marine organisms. He is co-author of about 150 scientific papers and numerous chapters of books and popular articles. He supervised twelve doctoral students. He is a member of various scientific councils (Prince Albert II Foundation, École Pratique des Hautes Études, Ifremer) and Board of Directors (Observatoire Océanologique de Villefranche-sur-Mer, INDEMER). He is a member of Academia Europaea. He is Knight of the Order of Saint Charles, Knight of the Order of Grimaldi, Knight of the French Order of Maritime Merit and Officer of Academic Palms.

Gaël Alory - Physicist oceanographe

Physicist at the Legos, Gaël Alory has spent the major part of his career abroad. Now based in Toulouse, Gaël is responsable for the observation of the sea and its seasonal scale. His skills in the Global Ocean observation are a real asset for OceanoScientific.

Pierre Blouch - Atmosphere

Retired from Météo-France, Pierre Blouch had been working as an engineer at the Centre of Marine Meteorology in Brest, for 35 years. Since the 1980s, his main activities consisted in the design, maintenance and operations of anchored and drifting weather buoys for research and operational meteorology purposes. In the frame of the Data Buoy Cooperation Panel of the WMO-IOC Joint Commission for Oceanography and Marine Meteorology (JCOMM), he contributed to the enhancement of the acquisition of real-time data, their transmission over the WMO network, the control of their quality, and the delayed mode data processing. In 2003, he was given the responsibility for the operational service for surface marine observations of EUMETNET, the grouping of European meteorological services. On this occasion, his skills were extended to automatic shipborne weather stations and he has contributed significantly to the realization of a European station called EUCAWS. Early on, Pierre Blouch advised the OceanoScientific Programmein its choices for meteorological measurements as well as real-time data transmission ashore. Thanks to that, OceanoScientific data are pushed on the WMO network (GTS).

Denis Diverrès - Scientific Instrumentation - IRD

Graduate in chemistry and oceanography, Denis Diverrès is engineer at the French Institute for Research and Development (IRD). Recruited as a marine chemist in 1993 as part of the Etambot project (a component of the international WOCE project), his first job was to develop and improve the measurement of the carbonate system parameters: pH, pCO2, total CO2. Back in Brest - France in 1997, he integrates the Atlantic Ocean Observation Network, hosted by IRD, based on opportunity vessels and part of the international JCOMM. A few years later, the network becomes the National Service for SSS measurements. In addition to temperature and salinity data, the network also provides pCO2and O2data. Over the past 20 years, Denis deepened his knowledge in the field of scientific sensors installed on board various vessels such as container vessels, fishing vessels, research vessels or even military vessels. Sailing from the Equator to Antarctica during his numerous cruises, he crossed all the major oceans. Literally impregnated with sea water, he lives on the coast of the Iroise sea. However the world of big racing sailboats is still mysterious for him. The OceanoScientific Programme is therefore a new challenge and should help him fill this gap.

Laurence Eymard - Director of the Fabienne Gaillard Scientific Committee

As a researcher at the CNRS, Knight of the Legion of Honour, Laurence Eymard spent her career in the field of climate and ocean-atmosphere interactions until 2017. She supervised and participated in a dozen measurement campaigns at sea (1990 - 2000) and at the same time specialized in the spatial observation of the atmosphere and the ocean surface. She directed the Laboratoire d'Océanographie et du Climat: Expérimentations et Approches Numériques (LOCEAN) from 2004 to 2011. As such, Laurence learnt about the OceanoScientific project on November 14, 2006. With colleagues at LOCEAN and several other laboratories, including Fabienne Gaillard (✞) of Ifremer, she supported and encouraged this innovative approach to offer ocean and climate research data collected at the Air-Sea interface. In recent years, the challenges of climate change and ecological transition have led Laurence to engage in projects involving scientists and citizens, within the framework of the Institut de la transition environnementale Sorbonne Université. In particular, she had led a participatory observatory project on the urban environment.

Didier Leandri - Undersea systems - University of Toulon SeaTech 

Pr Leandri obtained Ph.D. degrees in mechanics in 1993 and Dr. Sc (HDR) “Undersea Robotics” from Institut National Polytechnique of Toulouse in 1999. During 1987-2000, he was head of research group in undersea vehicles and undersea robotics for French Navy at “Centre Technique des Systèmes Navals” (French MOD). Since 2000, he is full professor at engineer school “Institut Supérieur des Ingénieurs de Toulon et du Var” (University of Toulon). His main interest lies in the area of undersea robotics systems for water and sediments sampling and undersea mechatronics systems. He leads the studies and developments of many undersea systems 

Loriane Mendez - Seabirds

Fascinated by the marine world since childhood, Loriane Mendez is specialized in the study of top predators. In the current context of global change, her motivations aim to better understand the causes and consequences of environmental fluctuations on seabirds and marine mammals populations. After a first degree in Biology of Organisms (Nice, France) and a Master's degree in Oceanography - Marine Biology and Ecology (Marseille, France), she did her doctoral thesis on the impact of environmental conditions on the distribution and the foraging behaviour of seabirds in tropical pelagic ecosystems (CEBC-CNRS, France). Her scientific background provided her a wide range of skills and experiences (spatial analysis, population genetics) applied to different study models (dolphins, whales, penguins and tropical seabirds). She is currently working for The Mediterranean Science Commission (CIESM) to develop a Seabird Taskforce at the Mediterranean basin scale. During the first Oceanoscientific Expedition Loriane helped to identify the seabirds observed.

Nicolas Metzl - pCO2 - CNRS

Since 30 years, Nicolas Metzl is Research Scientist at CNRS. His career has been devoted to research on marine carbon cycle, including air-sea CO2 fluxes, anthropogenic carbon, and recently ocean acidification. He started as a modeller in an observational team (PhD conducted at UPMC/Paris and UNH/USA) and investigated the variability of the air-sea CO2 fluxes based on both in-situ observations and biogeochemical models and then explored the penetration of anthropogenic CO2 in the ocean (WOCE/JGOFS era in the 90s). In 1998, he started a long-term observational project OISO (cruises conducted on-board R/V Marion-Dufresne in the Indian and Southern Oceans) still operating and complementary to the international network. As a Chair of the SOLAS/IMBER Carbon group, he initiated in 2007 the international data-base SOCAT (Surface Ocean Carbon Atlas, www.socat.info) now regularly used each year to evaluate the global carbon budget (Global Carbon Project). Since the first meeting with Yvan in 2006, Nicolas follows the OceanoScientific Programme, helps for proposals and participates in the data quality-control.

Gilles Reverdin - All parameters

Oceanographer affiliated to CNRS since 1981, Gilles Reverdin is adjunct-scientist at LDEO, Institute of Columbia University (New York) since 1995. After a French University thesis on air-sea exchanges in the Indian Ocean and the summer Indian monsoon, he has worked largely on observing the ocean in order to understand its physical and geochemical dynamics, and ascertain the role it plays in the climate system. For that, he has been particularly keen to study the surface ocean, its currents, its geochemistry, the air-sea exchanges, and to maintain observing systems for long durations in order to serve as a reference for the future generations.  During the last fifteen years, Gilles has been involved in building up Coriolis, a French inter-agency project with a European flavor, dedicated in organizing and coordinating the observation of the oceans in France and at the European level, both for finalized "operational" activities and for research purposes. Gilles is also interested in new technological developments and to the transfer of some of these observing activities to the citizens. He follows and advises the OceanoScientific Programmesince the beginning in 2006.

Thierry Reynaud - Temperature / Salinity

After a Ph.D in Montréal Canada devoted to the study of the water masses and currents in the Labrador Sea, Thierry Reynaud, French-Canadian, landed at Brest for a first postdoctoral position in the Laboratoire de Physique des Océans (LPO - Ifremer). The first part of his career was devoted to the compilation of temperature and salinity measurements in the Atlantic and the realization of climatologies used by the modelling community. Since 1998, he is working at Ifremer as an engineer in the LPO that recently become LOPS. First recruited to work on direct measurements of deep currents in the Atlantic, he is currently involved on projects of atmospheric modeling with an interest for the air - sea interface. At the request of Fabienne Gaillard (✞). Thierry devotes since 2014 a part of its activity to the measurements of surface salinity and temperature from opportunity ships that are ecologically less intrusive. A technical role in the installation of sensors, processing data and dissemination of results, role that proved to be a nice way to link work and an not moderate passion for sailing. During the first OceanoScientific Expedition, Thierry has been a permanent shore-link for the day-to-day control of the oceanographic data. 

Julia Uitz - Plankton

A research scientist at CNRS, Julia Uitz received a PhD in biogeochemical oceanography in 2006. After 5 years at Scripps Institution of Oceanography (USA) as a postdoctoral fellow, she joined the Laboratoire d’Oceanography de Villefranche (France) in 2012. Her research focuses on phytoplankton communities and their influence on the carbon biological pump in the global ocean and in specific oceanic regions, the Austral Ocean in particular. For this purpose, she explores new approaches that combine optical and biogeochemical observations acquired from traditional sampling onboard research vessels and collected by in situ (BGC-Argo profiling floats) and satellites (ocean color) autonomous platforms. Julia participated in several large field expeditions, among which KEOPS (2005) and SOCLIM (2016) in the Kerguelen region, Southern Ocean. In 2017, she has joined the international SCOR working group “P-OBS” that aims to stimulate the integration of systems for observing plankton into large ongoing ocean sampling programs. Julia is also involved in the outreach projects “mon ocean & moi” and “adopt a float” whose objective is to share oceanographic researches with schoolchildren.

Comité Scientifique

Fabienne Gaillard

Dès sa création, le 14 novembre 2006, le Programme OceanoScientific a établi en principe fondateur l'engagement à suivre scrupuleusement les recommandations des scientifiques, notamment dans le choix des capteurs à utiliser et des procédures à respecter pour leur mise en œuvre. A la création de l'association philanthropique d'intérêt général OceanoScientific, le 7 janvier 2011 par Jean-François Leprince-Ringuet (Président-fondateur), André Ladurelli (✞) et Rupert Schmid, ce principe a été érigé en règle inaliénable.

 

Au terme de l'Expédition OceanoScientific 2016-2017 - une première à succès en matière de campagne océanographique dans le couloir 40°/60° Sud - il a été décidé de renforcer la gouvernance de l'association par un Conseil d'Administration enrichi. En raison de la nature des projets scientifiques à mettre en œuvre ces prochaines années (2018-2021), ce Conseil a décidé de doter l'association d'un comité regroupant d'éminents scientifiques traitant des différents paramètres pour lesquels les Expéditions OceanoScientific sont en mesure de recueillir des données, des échantillons et des observations de qualité.

 

Ainsi est créé le Comité Scientifique Fabienne Gaillard

Fabienne Gaillard ()

Chercheuse - physicienne - Laboratoire d’Océanographie Physique et Spatiale (LOPS - Ifremer)

"Dès le mardi 14 novembre 2006, date du démarrage effectif du Programme OceanoScientific à Paris au Laboratoire d'Océanographie et du Climat : Expérimentations et Approches Numériques (LOCEAN) dirigé alors par Laurence Eymard, Fabienne Gaillard de l'Ifremer s'est engagée à mes côtés avec enthousiasme et compétence. Elle m'a guidé avec efficacité, à tel point que j'avais l'habitude de la présenter comme la "Maman du Programme OceanoScientific", tellement son engagement, sa générosité et sa bienveillance à l'égard de ce projet étaient sincères et entiers. Fabienne a longtemps dirigé le Laboratoire de Physique des Océans (LPO) auquel elle a collaboré dès son origine et "représentait au sein du Laboratoire d’Océanographie Physique et Spatiale (LOPS) une personnalité de rigueur scientifique", comme en a témoigné le 30 mars 2017 Antoine Dosdat, Directeur du site de l'Ifremer à Plouzané (Brest). Or, atteinte d'une grave maladie orpheline qui la rongeait inexorablement Fabienne s'est battue plusieurs années comme un marin dans la tempête. Un ouragan, même. Qui n'en finissait plus et qui l'a emporté dans ses rafales samedi 25 mars 2017, alors que j'étais en solo à moins de 24h00 du Cap Horn, faisant fonctionner avec efficacité l'OSC System qu'elle m'avait tant aidé à concevoir. Il est donc légitime que Fabienne Gaillard prête son nom au Comité Scientifique de l'association et que je continue à l'emmener dans les prochaines Expéditions OceanoScientific..." Yvan Griboval Président de OceanoScientific

Didier Zoccola - Directeur du Comité Scientifique Fabienne Gaillard

Biologiste moléculaire, Didier Zoccola étudie la physiologie des coraux récifaux. Depuis 2000, il est chercheur senior au Centre Scientifique de Monaco (CSM) avec un focus sur la biominéralisation et la symbiose. Depuis plus de quinze ans, il a combiné la biologie moléculaire, la biochimie et l'immunochimie pour comprendre comment les coraux construisent leurs squelettes. L'acidification des océans (AO) réduit les taux de calcification des coraux récifaux et, naturellement, Didier Zoccola a commencé à mener des études mécanistiques sur l'AO et la biominéralisation. Il a obtenu son doctorat en 1993 en Sciences de la Vie (spécialité immunologie) à l'Université de Nice - Sophia Antipolis, et a ensuite travaillé à l'Hôpital de Nice. La passion pour la mer et la plongée sous-marine du Docteur Zoccola l'ont naturellement conduit à la biologie marine. Il a participé à plusieurs expéditions : Tara Ocean (2010), Tara Pacific (2017-2018). Pour le lancement de la nouvelle expédition de la Principauté de Monaco : Les Explorations de Monaco, il était en charge de la mise en œuvre des équipements embarqués tels que les différents laboratoires et instruments, tout en assumant le rôle de coordinateur du projet scientifique du CSM pour Les Explorations de Monaco. C'est un des coordinateurs de Tara Pacific.

Linn Sekund - Secrétaire Générale du Comité Scientifique Fabienne Gaillard

Ingénieure en sciences marines, Linn Sekund, s’est spécialisée depuis 2015 dans l’étude des récifs coralliens. Diplômée d’un master international en Conservation de la Biodiversité Marine (Université de l’Algarve et l’Université de Galway - EMBC) Linn explore les quatre coins de monde pour enrichir ses connaissances sur la vie riche et fascinante des récifs. Pendant une année aux Maldives, en tant que biologiste marine, elle est alertée par les enjeux auxquels l’océan planétaire doit faire face, notamment les déchets plastiques et le blanchissement du corail. En 2017, elle est recrutée comme ingénieure au LOPS à l’IFREMER de Brest au sein du Pôle ODATIS. Une expérience qui lui permet d’acquérir une vision globale des données d'observations réalisées dans l’océan et à son interface. Linn participe également à la campagne océanographique RREX 2017 dans l’Atlantique Nord. En 2019, elle a l’opportunité de s’impliquer aux côtés de l’Université du Queensland, spécialisée dans la recherche sur les écosystèmes coralliens. Aujourd’hui elle rejoint l’équipe d’OceanoScientific en tant que coordinatrice scientifique embarquée. Elle assurera notamment la relation avec les scientifiques partenaires, le calibrage des capteurs et l’échantillonnage à bord des expéditions OceanoScientific.

Denis Allemand - Biologie marine - Centre Scientifique de Monaco

Directeur Scientifique du Centre Scientifique de Monaco (CSM) et professeur des Universités, Denis Allemand a obtenu son doctorat en 1986 à l'Université de Montpellier II (France) en Sciences pharmacologiques et endocrinologie. Son principal domaine de recherche concerne la physiologie des organismes marins, principalement des coraux, et leur utilisation en tant qu’organismes modèles pour comprendre les grands problèmes de la biologie (biominéralisation, symbiose, évolution…). Il étudie également l'effet de l'acidification des océans sur les organismes marins. Il est co-auteur d’environ 150 articles scientifiques et de très nombreux chapitres d’ouvrages et articles de vulgarisation. Il a supervisé douze étudiants en doctorat. Il est membre de différents conseils scientifiques (Fondation Prince Albert II, École Pratique des Hautes Études, Ifremer) et Conseil d'administration (Observatoire Océanologique de Villefranche-sur-Mer, INDEMER). Il est membre de l’Academia Europaea. Il est Chevalier de l'Ordre de Saint-Charles, Chevalier de l'Ordre de Grimaldi, Chevalier de l’ordre français du Mérite Maritime et Officier des Palmes Académiques.

Gaël Alory - Physicien Adjoint CANP - Océanographe - LEGOS

Physicien océanographe au Legos, Gaël Alory a passé la plus grande partie de sa carrière à l'international. Basé au Legos à Toulouse Gaël est responsable de l'observation de l'Océan et sa saisonnalité. Ses compétences en océanographie son un atout majeur pour OceanoScientific.

Pierre Blouch - Atmosphère - Retraité de Météo France

Retraité de Météo-France, Pierre Blouch a travaillé 35 ans en tant qu’ingénieur, au Centre de Météorologie Marine à Brest. Ses activités principales ont consisté, dès les années 80, à concevoir, entretenir et exploiter des bouées météorologiques ancrées et dérivantes, pour les besoins de la recherche et de la météorologie opérationnelle. Dans le cadre du Data Buoy Cooperation Panel de la Commission Mixte OMM-COI pour l’Océanographie et la Météorologie Marine (JCOMM), il a contribué à améliorer l’acquisition des données en temps réel, leur transmission sur le réseau de l’OMM, le contrôle de leur qualité, et leur traitement en temps différé. En 2003, il s’est vu confier la responsabilité du service opérationnel d’observation à la surface de la mer du groupement des services météorologiques européens : EUMETNET. À cette occasion, ses compétences se sont élargies aux stations automatiques de navires et ont contribué à la réalisation d’une station automatique européenne : EUCAWS. Très tôt, Pierre Blouch a accompagné et a conseillé le Programme OceanoScientific dans ses choix en matière de mesures météorologiques et de transmission des données horaires en temps réel, à terre.

Denis Diverrès- Ingénieur - Instrumentation Scientifique - IRD

Chimiste et océanographe de formation, Denis Diverrès est ingénieur en instrumentation scientifique à l’IRD. Recruté comme chimiste marin en 1993 pour les besoins des campagnes Etambot en Guyane française (une des composante du programme international WOCE), il fut d’abord chargé de la mesure des paramètres du système des carbonates dans la colonne d’eau: pH, pCO2, TCO2. A son retour à Brest en 1997, il s’investit dans le réseau de l’IRD d’observation de l’Océan Atlantique par  les navires d’opportunité sous la bannière du JCOMM (Joint Commission for Meteorology and Oceanography). Cet observatoire fournit surtout des données de données de température et de salinité de surface mais également des données de pCO2 et d’O2.. Depuis une vingtaine d’années, Denis s’est spécialisé dans les installations de capteurs scientifiques à bord de navires aussi variés que les porte-conteneurs, navires de pêche, navires de recherche ou militaires. Ses nombreuses campagnes en mer l’ont fait voyager de l’Équateur à l’Antarctique sur tous les grands océans. Imprégné d’eau de mer depuis toujours, il est pourtant peu familier des grands voiliers de course. A ce titre,  le Programme OceanoScientific constitue un nouveau défi.

Laurence Eymard - Tous paramètres - LOCEAN

Chercheuse au CNRS, Chevalier de la Légion d'Honneur, Laurence Eymard a mené sa carrière dans le domaine du climat et des interactions océan-atmosphère jusqu'en 2017. Elle a piloté et participé à une dizaine de campagnes de mesures en mer (1990 - 2000) et s'est parallèlement spécialisée dans l'observation spatiale de l'atmosphère et de la surface océanique. Elle a ainsi dirigé le Laboratoire d'Océanographie et du Climat : Expérimentations et Approches Numériques (LOCEAN) de 2004 à 2011. A ce poste, Laurence découvre le projet OceanoScientific le 14 novembre 2006. Avec ses collègues du LOCEAN ainsi que de plusieurs autres laboratoires, dont Fabienne Gaillard (✞) de l’Ifremer, elle soutient et encourage cette démarche originale pour offrir à la recherche sur l'océan et le climat des données collectées à l'interface océan-atmosphère. Ces dernières années, les défis du changement climatique et de la transition écologique ont conduit Laurence à s'engager dans des projets associant scientifiques et citoyens, dans le cadre de l'Institut de la Transition Environnementale de Sorbonne Universités. Elle a poursuivi en particulier un projet d'observatoire participatif de l'environnement urbain.

Didier Leandri - Robots sous-marins - Université de Toulon SeaTech

Diplômé d'un Ph.D en mécanique en 1993, Didier Leandri a obtenu le Doctorat en Science sur les Robots sous-marins de l'Institut National Polytechnique de Toulouse en 1999. De 1987 à 2000 Didier a été responsable du groupe de recherche sur les véhicules et robots sous-marins de la Marine Nationale Française au “Centre Technique des Systèmes Navals”. Depuis 2000, Didier Leandri est professeur à l'Ecole d'ingénieurs SeaTech “Institut Supérieur des Ingénieurs de Toulon et du Var” (Université de Toulon). Passionné de robots sous-marins destinés à l'étude de l'eau et des sédiments, Didier dirige les études et le développement de plusieurs systèmes.

Loriane Mendez - Oiseaux marins - CIESM (Mediterranean Science Commision)

Fascinée par le monde marin depuis l’enfance, Loriane Mendez est spécialisée dans l’étude des prédateurs supérieurs. Dans le contexte actuel de changement climatique global, ses motivations visent à mieux comprendre les causes et les conséquences des fluctuations environnementales sur les populations d’oiseaux et de mammifères marins. Après une licence en Biologie (Nice) et un master en Océanographie (Marseille), elle effectue sa thèse de doctorat sur la distribution et le comportement de recherche alimentaire d’oiseaux marins tropicaux (CEBC-CNRS). Son parcours scientifique lui permet d’acquérir de nombreuses compétences (analyses spatiales, génétique des populations) appliquées à différents modèles d’étude (dauphins, baleines, manchots et oiseaux marins tropicaux). Elle travaille actuellement pour la Commission Internationale pour l’Exploration Scientifique de la Méditerranée (CIESM), afin d’aider au développement d’un programme méditerranéen sur les oiseaux marins. Loriane a participé à l’identification des oiseaux marins observés durant l'Expédition OceanoScientific.

Nicolas Metzl - pCO2 - CNRS

Chercheur au CNRS, Nicolas Metzl étudie le cycle du carbone océanique et son couplage avec le climat. Après une thèse en océanographie menée à l’Université Pierre et Marie Curie et l’Université de New-Hampshire (USA), il a commencé à étudier les échanges de CO2 à l’interface air-mer et l’accumulation de CO2 anthropique dans l’océan durant les années 90 dans le cadre des programmes internationaux WOCE/JGOFS.  En 1998, il a initié le projet à long-terme OISO (Océan Indien Service d’Observations) dont les campagnes, conduites chaque année à bord du N/O Marion-Dufresne (IPEV-TAAF) dans l’océan Indien Sud et secteur Austral, complètent le réseau international. En qualité de Chairman du groupe SOLAS-IMBER-Carbon, il a initié en 2007 le projet international SOCAT (Surface Ocean Carbon Atlas, www.socat.info) dédié aux observations de CO2 océanique utilisées, en particulier, pour évaluer chaque année le bilan de carbone planétaire (Global Carbon Project). Depuis la première réunion du Programme OceanoScientific au LOCEAN en 2006, Nicolas suit le projet et participe à l’évaluation de la qualité des données recueillies durant les circumnavigations.

Gilles Reverdin - Tous paramètres - INSU - CNRS - LOCEAN 

Chercheur-océanographe au CNRS depuis 1981, Gilles Reverdin est adjunct-scientist du LDEO de Columbia University (New York) depuis 1995. Après une thèse d’université consacrée aux échanges air-mer et à la mousson sur l’océan Indien, il s'est consacré à l’observation de l’océan, pour en comprendre sa variabilité dynamique et géochimique, ainsi que le rôle qu’il joue dans la variabilité climatique. A ce titre, il s'est particulièrement penché sur l’océan de surface, ses courants, sa géochimie, ses échanges avec l’atmosphère en essayant de maintenir des observations dans la durée en vue de servir de référence pour les générations futures. Au cours des quinze dernières années, il s'est impliqué dans la construction de Coriolis, projet Français inter-organismes et à vocation Européenne destiné à organiser et à coordonner l’observation des océans en France et au niveau Européen, tant à des fins "opérationnelles" qu’à des fins de recherche. Il s'intéresse aussi aux instrumentations nouvelles et à l’appropriation de l’observation par la société civile. Il suit et conseille le Programme OceanoScientific depuis son origine en 2006.

Thierry Reynaud - Température / Salinité - Ifremer

Après un PhD à Montréal (Canada) consacré à l’étude des masses d’eau et courants en Mer du Labrador, le franco-canadien Thierry Reynaud atterrit à Brest pour un premier stage postdoctoral au Laboratoire d’Océanographie Physique (LPO - Ifremer). Sa carrière a été initialement consacrée à la compilation des mesures de température et salinité dans l’Atlantique et à la réalisation de climatologies. Depuis 1998, il est ingénieur à l’Ifremer au sein du LPO devenu LOPS récemment. D’abord recruté pour travailler sur les mesures directes de courants profonds, il s’implique actuellement sur des projets de modélisation atmosphérique avec un intérêt pour l’interface air-mer. A la demande de Fabienne Gaillard (✞), Thierry consacre depuis 2014 une partie de son activité aux mesures de surface, salinité et température, sur les navires d’opportunité écologiquement peu intrusifs. Il assume un rôle technique dans la mise en place de capteurs, le traitement des données et la diffusion des résultats, rôle qui s’est révélé être une agréable façon de lier travail et une passion non modérée pour la voile. Au cours de la première Expédition OceanoScientific, Thierry a été un des liens permanents à terre pour le contrôle au quotidien de l’ensemble des données océanographiques.

Julia Uitz - Plancton - Laboratoire d'Océanographie de Villefranche-sur-Mer

Chercheuse au CNRS, Julia Uitz a obtenu un doctorat en océanographie biogéochimique en 2006. Après 5 années au Scripps Institution of Oceanography (Etats-Unis) comme chercheuse postdoctorale, elle a intégré le Laboratoire d’Océanographie de Villefranche-sur-Mer en 2012. Ses recherches portent sur les communautés phytoplanctoniques et leur influence sur la pompe biologique à carbone dans l’océan global et dans certaines régions, notamment l’Océan Austral. Dans ce contexte, elle cherche à développer de nouvelles approches couplant des observations optiques et biogéochimiques acquises par échantillonnage classique à bord des navires et issues de plateformes autonomes in situ (flotteurs BGC-Argo) et satellites (couleur de l’océan). Julia a participé à plusieurs campagnes de terrain, dont KEOPS (2005) et SOCLIM (2016) dans la région australe des Kerguelen. En 2017, elle a rejoint le groupe de travail international du SCOR "P-OBS", dont l’objectif est de stimuler l’intégration de systèmes d’observation du plancton au sein des grands programmes d’échantillonnage de l’océan. Julia s’investit aussi dans les projets d’outreach dédiés aux scolaires "mon océan & moi" et "adopt a float".